The Library at St. Cloud State University

Pipeline Summer Camp Programs

Pipeline Summer Camp Programs
Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Search for...background information
Use the following resources to find out information, about science terminology, subjects, and topics.

Credo Logo



Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management Restricted Resource
"...provides a complete one-volume guide to the core definitions and issues associated with pure and applied ecology."

Princeton Guide to Ecology Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref
This guide covers everything from the fundamentals of ecology to its applications to conservation biology, climate change and implications for ecosystems.
SAGE Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.
Science.gov (FirstGov for Science)
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S Government agencies, including research and development results.
Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Full-text reference resource compiled from nearly 640 specialized encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth sciences, environmental sciences, physics, medicine, science & society, and technology.
Scientific American Archives Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full text of articles from Scientific American magazine from 1993 to the present.
Note: 1993 - present
Search for...journal articles
Use the following databases to find academic/scholarly journal articles

Academic Search Premier
Limit Your Results

Agricola (Agriculture) Unrestricted Resource database
Index to articles, book chapters, short reports, and reprints encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. Also search the online catalog of the National Agriculture Library.
Chemistry Commons Unrestricted Resource
Open access to a growing number of articles authored by scholars from over 100 academic institutions.
Computer Engineering Commons Unrestricted Resource
Open access articles written by undergraduate and graduate students as well as faculty. Sub-topics include robotics, networking, systems architecture, data storage, digital circuits, and other computing areas.
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals
Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.
Writing Style Manuals & Poster Information
Citation Style Guides

Citation Styles (APA, MLA, etc.)
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography.

Posters

PLOS - Ten Simple Rules for a Good Poster Presentation  
Pointers for designing posters
Designing Conference Posters
Useful guide for "Do's and Don't's" in designing and creating conference posters.
Navigating the Library
Miller Center InteriorBuilding Maps
  • First Floor (Reference Books, Research Help Desk, Circulation Desk, Write Place)
  • Second Floor (Books with A-D call numbers, computer lab)
  • Third Floor (Books with M-N call numbers, children's books)
  • Basement (Books with E-H, L, and P-Z call numbers)
     
Using the Building
Picking your topic IS research

North Carolina State University - Library Tutorials
One Perfect Source


​NCSU Libraries - Tutorials
 
How to use a Database


UTC Library Tutorials
Subject Guides


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University