The Library at St. Cloud State University

Recreation and Sports Management

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Articles, journals, magazines and newspapers

Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Business Source Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Encyclopedia of Play in Today's Society Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
The Encyclopedia of Play in Today’s Society explores the concept of play in history and modern society in the United States and internationally. Its scope encompasses leisure and recreational activities of children and adults throughout the ages, from dice games in the Roman Empire to video games today.
ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Professional Collection (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
The Professional Collection is a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators. It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training
PubMed database
"PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books."
SPORTDiscus Restricted Resource findit database
SPORTDiscus provides comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sports, fitness and related disciplines; does not contain fulltext but may link to the fulltext of articles in other sources.

  Facts, definitions, and overviews

Encyclopedia of Leisure and Outdoor Recreation
Print Location: REF GV11 .E55 2003
Check availability
More than 500 entries are included covering leisure and outdoor recreation concepts, theories, methods, issues, and practices around the globe. Index.
Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America
Print Location: REF GV53 .E53 2004
Check availability
2 vol. More than 270 essays present information on topics ranging from auctions and blood sports to shopping malls and theme parks.
Encyclopedia of Sport Sciences and Medicine
Print Location: GV701 .E5x
Check availability
Published by American College of Sports Medicine, this classic encyclopedia (1971) includes articles on sports, emotions, growth and development, prevention, rehabilitation, safety and protection.
Sports Injuries Sourcebook
Print Location: REF RD97 .S736 1999
Check availability
Basic consumer health information about common sports injuries, prevention of injuries, tips for training and rehabilitation. Includes information for children as well as senior athletes.
Sports Market Place
Print Location: REF HD9992 .U5 S667 1995
Check availability
Guide to more than 10,000 sports organizations, teams, corporate sponsors, sports agents, marketing and event management agencies, media, manufacturers and retailers.
Summer Programs for Kids & Teenagers
Print Location: REF GV 186 .S85 2009
Check availability
Summer programs featuring outdoor, travel, cultural, and academic purposes. Arranged geographically, including United States as well as global programs. Several indexes allow various ways of accessing information and detailed program descriptions.

  Websites

SIRC SportQuest
SIRC SportQuest is a bibliographic database producer of sport, fitness, and sports medicine information. Use the site search engine to locate fulltext articles and other publications. Some search features require an individual user subscription.
Wilderness Education Association
The mission of the Wilderness Education Association is to promote the professionalism of outdoor leadership and to thereby improve the safety of outdoor trips and to enhance the conservation of the wild outdoors.
Wilderness Medical Associates
Practical, expert training in wilderness and rescue medicine since 1981.
Wilderness Medicine Institute
The Wilderness Medicine Institute's goal is to provide the highest quality education and information for the recognition, treatment, and prevention of wilderness emergencies.

  Laws, legislation, and government reports

National Parks Service
The National Park Service cares for national parks, a network of nearly 400 natural, cultural and recreational sites across the nation. Beyond national parks, the National Park Service helps communities across America preserve and enhance important local heritage and close-to-home recreational opportunities. The National Park Service saefguards more than 400 places and has over 275 million visitors every year.  (from NPS website). 
Recreation.gov
Recreation One-Stop is one of the E-Government initiatives in the President's Management Agenda to improve the effectiveness, efficiency, and customer service of the recreation programs.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University