The Library at St. Cloud State University

REC 415 - Marketing of Recreation and Sports Management

Business Databases
Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.

NOTE: Both Business Source Premier and SPORTDiscus include the full-text archive of Sport Marketing Quarterly back to 2000. SMQ is the primary trade publication for the sports marketing industry, and as such, is a preferred source of information.

Use the Thesaurus (in the blue menu bar at the top of the screen) to find subject terms for your research. Examples include "Sports -- marketing," "Sports tie-ins (Marketing)," and "Sports sponsorship." 
Sports Databases
SPORTDiscus Restricted Resource findit database
SPORTDiscus provides comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sports, fitness and related disciplines; does not contain fulltext but may link to the fulltext of articles in other sources.

NOTE: While SPORTDiscus and Business Source Premier have identical interfaces, they are separate databases, so they do NOT share a Thesaurus. Consequently, the subject headings in SPORTDiscus are substantially different from Business Source Premier. Use the Thesaurus to find subject terms for your search in SPORTDiscus, and try compound searches for different sports. Examples include: "marketing strategy AND hockey," "sponsorships AND amateurs," and so forth.
Demographics/Psychographics

NOTE: Look in the Fall 2012 Product database for "Sports/Leisure."

SRDS Media Solutions Advertising Sources Restricted Resource database
The Standard Rate and Data Service (SRDS) is a collection of databases offering information of interest to advertising and marketing students, including the Business Media Advertising Source and Consumer Media Advertising Source. Most importantly, SRDS offers access to Claritas Segmentation and Market Solutions, the online replacement for the print resource, Lifestyle Market Analyst.  

 
American FactFinder Unrestricted Resource database
Tables and maps of most recent demographic and economic data for all geographies including the U.S., states, counties, cities, towns, American Indian reservations, metropolitan areas, zip codes, census tracts, blocks, and more. Produced by the US Census Bureau.
Good Stuff on the Web

Minnesota Amateur Sports

Minnesota Amateur Sports Commission

Minnesota Sports Federation

Minnesota Sports

2013 Minnesota Statutes governing amateur sports in Minnesota (Chapter 240A: Amateur Sports Commission)

 

Sports Marketing Companies

IMG

IMG College (a subsidiary of IMG)

National Amateur Sports


 

Sports Marketing and Social Media

TheBusinessOfSports.com

SportsNetworker.com

sports marketing and social media
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Olivia's contact hours, Spring 2014
OFFICE HOURS:
Mondays, 3 - 4 pm
Tuesdays, 2 - 3 pm

AT THE REFERENCE DESK:
Mondays, 4 - 5 pm
Tuesdays, 9 - 10 am
Wednesdays, 5 - 6 pm
Thursdays, 3 - 5 pm

If the above is not convenient, please call or e-mail to set up an appointment.
Citation Formatting and Writing Help
Write Place Unrestricted Resource
The Write Place offers free, one-on-one tutoring to all members of the St. Cloud State University community, at any stage in the writing process. They are located in Building 51 and also have a satellite location in the library on first floor.

Citation Styles and RefWorks Unrestricted Resource
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University