The Library at St. Cloud State University

Religious Studies

Library Resources for Research
Find Books, Videos, and More
Books and More Advanced Search (MnPALS Plus)
Search for books, ebooks, video, government publications, recordings, music scores, and other materials available at the library. Use the limits to focus on specific collections.

Internet Sacred Text Archive
English translations of major sacred texts for most maintstream religious movements (Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Hinduism Buddhism) as well as myths, legends, sagas, and obscure spiritualist movements. Most of the translations date from the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

WorldCat Restricted Resource database
WorldCat is a catalog of materials from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and use Interlibrary Loan to request items St. Cloud State University does not own.

Films on Demand: Philosophy & Religion Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Streaming video on topics in ethics, social and political philosophy, history of philosophy, religion and sprirituality, world religions, and more.
Find Scholarly Articles
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Search over 2,000 scholarly journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Note: 1954 to present

America: History & Life Restricted Resource findit database
Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).

Philosopher's Index Restricted Resource findit database
A comprehensive database that searches the contents of over 550 philosophical journals as well as books, anthologies, and book reviews related to topics in philosophy.
Note: 1940 to present
Find Background and Overview Information
Credo Logo


Oxford Biblical Studies Online Restricted Resource database
Provides a comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history. Includes authoritative scholarly texts and reference works with tools for research into the background, context, and issues related to the Bible.

BBC World Service: Your Guide to World Religions
Brief descriptions of major religions and useful links.

Catholic Encyclopedia
Designed to present its readers with the full body of Catholic teaching, the Encyclopedia contains not only precise statements of what the Church as defined, but also an impartial record of different views of acknowledged authority on all disputed questions. The online edition is based on the 1917 print edition.

Encyclopaedia Judaica
Print Location: REF DS102.8 .E496 Unrestricted Resource Some full text availableeref Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
SCSU owns both the original print and the updated online editions of this title. The updated online edition of this classic work includes more than 21,000 entries on all aspects of Jewish life, culture, history, and religion.

Jewish Encyclopedia
This is the online version of the Jewish Encyclopedia which was originally published between 1901-1906. Because of this works publication date, it does not include events of the 20th century. However, it contains important information that is relevant today.

Encyclopedia Mythica
An encyclopedia of world myth, legend, and folklore containing over 6100 articles on gods and goddesses, heroes and demons, supernatural beings and creatures, and sacred objects. Users can browse topics or search by keywords.

Encyclopedia of African Religion Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Explores such topics as deities and divinities, the nature of humanity, the end of life, the conquest of fear, and the quest for attainment of harmony with nature and other humans. Include nearly 500 entries that seek to rediscover the original beauty and majesty of African religion.

Encyclopedia of Global Religion Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Provides a comprehensive overview of the globalization of religious culture and society around the world in both its historical and contemporary aspects. The encyclopedia includes topics related to the diaspora of cultures and dispersions of peoples; the transitional aspects of religious ideas and practices; the cultural diversity of religious traditions; and the responses of religion—both negative and positive—to multicultural society.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.

Encyclopedia of Religion
REF BL31 .E46 1987 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Multi-volume set covers all world religions.

Additional Print Reference Books can be found on 1st floor of the Miller Center Library (call numbers BL-BX)
Subject Specialist
Picture: Melissa Prescott

Melissa Prescott
Associate Professor, Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu

Religion Resources in the Library


Miller Center Basement

Books on Religious Studies begin with call numbers BL-BX

BL=Religions, Mythology, Rationalism
BM=Judaism
BP=Islam
BQ=Buddhism
BR=Christianity
BS=The Bible
BT=Doctrinal Theology
BV=Practical Theology
BX=Christian Denominations
Search Tips for Library Databases
  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Cite Your Sources
Citation Styles
Choose a citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian ...) and follow the guidelines for formatting your paper and references.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University