The Library at St. Cloud State University

The Repository at St. Cloud State University

The Repository
Introduction
The Repository at St. Cloud State University provides permanent, organized, and indexed digital storage for the intellectual and creative output of the University.  Research, scholarly content, and creative productions included in The Repository has been selected and deposited by or upon the recommendation of individual faculty, the University Archives and Special Collections, and departments on campus.  The Repository provides an open access stable online location, indexed in both Google Scholar and LibSearch, for all formats of research and creativity.  All faculty are encouraged to deposit their scholarship or creativity and recommend deposit of exemplary scholarship or creativity by students in The Repository.
Why contribute to The Repository?
The Repository at St. Cloud State University makes the scholarship of SCSU students and faculty easily available in one location online, enabling increased access to colleagues and researchers, students and the Internet community.  Works placed in the repository are more easily discovered in common internet search engines as well as other academic search portals.  In addition, because a permanent URL is established, researches can cite these works without the normal concerns regarding content online disappearing or hiding behind pay walls.  The Repository is a valuable way to expand the reach of your scholarship. Increased visibility, awareness, and stability benefits content creators, St. Cloud State University, and researchers everywhere.
  • Increased visibility: The Repository expands access to your content, increasing its discoverability and usability by making it available through common search tools providing wider distribution of your scholarly or creative production.
  • Permanence: The Repository provides a stable URL to your content so your scholarship or creative work can be found and cited.
  • Archiving: The Repository provides a single digital archive of your work and relieves you or your department of the need to manage and upgrade digital files to keep up with technology.
  • E-Publishing: The Repository facilitates management of electronic journals, newsletters, and conferences.  For example: Linguistic Portfolios and Survive & Thrive
  • Grant requirements: Submitting your work to The Repository can help fulfill the data-sharing expectations of some grants.
What to contribute to The Repository
The Repository is very interested in
  • faculty scholarship (peer-reviewed publications, conference presentations, research studies/white papers, data archives, opinion essays, books, and academic book reviews ):
  • undergraduate student scholarship (honors research, Research Collquium papers, senior research papers, conference papers and posters) upon faculty recommendation;
  • graduate students scholarship (culminating projects like theses or dissertations; conference papers and posters, peer-reviewed articles) upon faculty recommendation;
  • conference proceedings -- The Repository is able to host conference program, paper/presentation submission, review, and publication of proceedings;
  • academic journals for undergraduate research, disciplinary or interdisciplinary research, or for regional interest -- The Repository is able to host article submission, editorial review, and publication process.

Among the types of content (and formats) accepted for deposit are:
  • Text (doc, rtf, txt, pdf)
    • Articles, chapters, and preprints
    • Technical reports
    • Working papers
    • Conference papers/presentations
    • Dissertations/theses/practicums/capstone projects
    • Open access books
  • Datasets (xls, csv, txt)
  • Compressed websites (zip, gzip)
  • Presentations (ppt), with speaker notes
  • Images (jpeg or j2k)
  • Audio files (mp3), with audio transcript text
  • Video files (mpg2 or mpg4; can also embed YouTube or Vimeo), with audio transcript text
If you have content that currently is not in digital form, contact The Repository administrator--it may be possible to digitize your content.
Who can contribute to The Repository?
The Repository is very interested in
  • faculty scholarship (peer-reviewed publications, conference presentations, research studies/white papers, data archives, opinion essays, books, and academic book reviews ):
  • student scholarship (honors research, Research Collquium papers, culminating projects like theses of dissertations) upon faculty recommendation;
  • conference proceedings -- The Repository is able to host conference program, paper/presentation submission, review, and publication of proceedings;
  • academic journals for undergraduate research, disciplinary or interdisciplinary research, or for regional interest -- The Repository is able to host article submission, editorial review, and publication process.
Copyright
Submitting your work to The Repository does not change your copyright or ownership.  Individual creators grant to St. Cloud State University  a non-exclusive, royalty free, perpetual license for access to and distribution of deposited content. By depositing content, creators affirm the submission does not infringe upon anyone else's copyright and that they have the right to grant the rights contained in the license.

If needed, the Library can assist in checking on permissions that are normally given as part of each publisher's copyright transfer agreement.  Often, as part of the initial publication contract, a publisher will grant a right to deposit after a standard embargo period.  If an author is unsure of their rights with a journal or publisher, they can check this at the SHERPA RoMEO web site. The Library can provide assistance on using and interpreting SHERPA RoMEO information when needed or contacting a publisher or journal directly.

Requests for commercial use of materials found in The Repository will be referred to the creator.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Keith Ewing

Keith Ewing
Professor, Systems Librarian
MC 204D
(320) 308-4824
kewing@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University