The Library at St. Cloud State University

S2S Senior to Sophomore Program

Library and Web Resources for the..

 Senior to Sophomore Program

General Information
Quick Facts
  • Over 200 computers available - all are available for printing
  • Print cards available for purchase ($1.00) in the coffee shop or on the 2nd floor
    • 7 cents double-sided, 4 cents single-sided
    • Use your StarID to login and print
  • Free book scanning...scan and send directly to your email address
  • Do research from your home or school

Other Information
​​
SMART: The Basic Research Process
Getting Started with Research
Guides

Research Tips and Tutorials
Tutorials and guides help you get started with your research, including how to find scholarly journals and utilize library resources and services.

Research Guides (By Subject or Course Number)
Guides for doing research in a particular subject area (Art, Education, Social Work, etc.) or for a specific course.

General Reference Resources

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Provides overviews and multiple points of view on contemporary social issues. Includes viewpoint articles as well as articles from popular magazines, academic journals, newspapers, and primary sources.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
SAGE Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Reliable, unbiased, and in-depth information on a wide variety of current issues. Excellent for browsing hot topics.
Finding Magazine and Scholarly Articles
LibSearch Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Your first stop for finding scholarly high-quality research. Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with most of the online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search. Tip: For scholarly articles, click the check box to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

ProQuest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Fulltext of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).

Databases A-Z Unrestricted Resource
Alphabetical list of library databases.
Ask a Librarian


Reference Desk: (320) 308-4755

Miller Center 1st Floor W  (Hours vary during holidays and breaks)
  • Monday-Thursday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
  • Friday: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Saturday: Closed
  • Sunday: 4:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Email us:  askref@stcloudstate.edu  
Computer chat with a  librarian: Chat (24/7)    
Consultation for individuals or small groups: Schedule a research consultation
Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Web Resources
American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
The gateway to the Library of Congress’s digitized American historical materials including manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.

Minnesota Digital Library: Minnesota Reflections
The collection brings you more than 210,000 images, maps and documents from more than 155 of the state's cultural heritage organizations. This site offers resources on Minnesota's history and geography for researchers, educators, students, and the public.

Minnesota Historical Society
"Connect with Minnesota's people and their stories -- past and present. We've been collecting, preserving and telling Minnesota stories for more than 150 years. Discover your links to Minnesota's past."

Science.gov (FirstGov for Science)
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S Government agencies, including research and development results.

Search.USA.gov
Search.USA.gov is the U.S. government’s official search engine. It is a comprehensive, searchable index of about 50 million pages from federal, state, local, territorial, and tribal websites.
Citation and Style Guides

Online Resources

Citation Styles
Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Thesaurus.com
Citation Styles and RefWorks


Print Resources

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
READY REF LB2369 .G53 2016
Official manual for MLA documentation. Print copies of the eighth edition are available in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. For online examples, see the MLA Style Center's "What's New in the Eighth Edition."


Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
READY REF BF76.7 .P83 2010 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Official manual for APA documentation. Available in print only, in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 6th edition, 2010.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University