The Library at St. Cloud State University

Scientific Discovery Program

Scientific Discovery Program
3D Dual Color Super Resolution Microscopy Cremer 2010
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
Finding Magazine and Scholarly Articles
Library Search Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Your first stop for finding scholarly high-quality research. Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with most of the online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search. Tip: For scholarly articles, click the check box to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.

Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.


ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals


Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

ProQuest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Fulltext of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).

Databases by Subject (choose a database to search for articles) Unrestricted Resource
Select a general, broad subject area to identify a database to search for articles on your topic.

 
Getting Started with Research


Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.


SAGE Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.

‚Äč
Science.gov (FirstGov for Science) Unrestricted Resource
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S Government agencies, including research and development results.


Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Provides overviews and multiple points of view on contemporary social issues. Includes viewpoint articles as well as articles from popular magazines, academic journals, newspapers, and primary sources.


CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Reliable, unbiased, and in-depth information on a wide variety of current issues. Excellent for browsing hot topics.

 
SMART: The Basic Research Process
Finding Library Books
Books and More Search (MnPALS Plus)
Search for books in the Library collection. Find the Call Number to locate the book in the Library.
 

Tips for Finding Books

  • Academic libraries contain materials that support the curriculum, or what is taught and studied at the college or university.
  • Most academic libraries use the Library of Congress (LC) Call Number System to organize their physical items.
  • When you search for books, videos, or other materials in the library catalog (MnPALS), you find information about each item. This information is displayed in what's called a "record." For instance, a record for a book looks like this:



To find the book, you must look for it in the library using its Call Number and its location. In our example, we can see that the item is Available and is in the Main Collection - Basement. The call number, LC67.62 .M58 2010, translates to...
  • Subclass LC -- “Special aspects of education” -- Shelved in alphabetical order
  • 67.62 -- “Social aspects of education. Economic aspects of education.” -- Shelved numerically as a whole number, sometimes with a decimal
  • .M58 -- (a.k.a. the Cutter line) author’s last name, “Mullen” -- Shelved alphabetically by the letter, then numerically as a decimal
  • 2010 -- the year the book was published -- Shelved in chronological order
Research After This Summer
Research Project Calculator 
Research Project Calculator makes the research process easier. The calculator divides your project into easy-to-manage steps so that you can complete your project on time. The calculator also provides search tips and suggestions. SCSU Version of Research Project Calculator.

Electronic Library for Minnesota
ELM provides resources for all Minnesota residents. You only need a public library card to access the databases. ELM also offers 24/7 chat reference through AskMN!

 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robin Ewing

Robin Ewing
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130B
(320) 308-2093
rlewing@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk: (320) 308-4755

Miller Center 1st Floor W
Summer 2014 Hours
  • Monday-Thursday: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
  • Friday: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Stop by the Circulation Desk for help this summer.
askref@stcloudstate.edu
Chat (24/7)
Cite Your Sources

Why Citation is Important from Kimbel Library on Vimeo.



When you write papers for your college classes, it is extremely important to cite your sources using a particular citation style. APA and MLA are examples of commonly used citation styles. Always ask your professor what style you should use.

Citation Styles
Choose a citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian ...) and follow the guidelines for formatting your paper and references.
Navigating the Library
Panorama PhotosMiller Center Interior
Building Maps
  • First Floor (Reference Books, Research Help Desk, Circulation Desk, Write Place)
  • Second Floor (Books with A-D call numbers, computer lab)
  • Third Floor (Books with M-N call numbers, children's books)
  • Basement (Books with E-H, L, and P-Z call numbers)
 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University