The Library at St. Cloud State University

Where In the World Do They Speak Spanish?
Spanish Speaking Regions of the World
Multimedia
Five Minute Spanish Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
"These concise videos cut straight to the point in explaining introductory Spanish grammar concepts. Whether you are new to Spanish, looking for review materials, or in need of something to supplement what you are learning in your Spanish class, these videos should help you quickly improve your understanding of Spanish grammar. If you have an iPad, you may also want to download our free Spanish textbook, which also includes vocabulary, culture, and more, available here: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/espanol-i/id581002884?mt=13" [from iTunes]

Learn Spanish with SpanishPod101.com - YouTube Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Funny YouTube series of Spanish mini-lessons in grammar, colloquialisms, conversation, listening, and more! Focus on Mexican Spanish.

Destinos: An Introduction to Spanish Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
"Travel the world with lawyer Raquel Rodriguez as she solves a mystery for a dying man. Watch the complete Destinos series, practice your Spanish, and find new resources for learning and teaching Spanish." [from website, produced by Annenberg Learner]

BBC Languages: Spanish: Mi Vida Loca Unrestricted Resource
"An interactive video drama and Spanish course...Mi Vida Loca takes you on an intrigue mystery adventure to Madrid and beyond in 22 episodes, approx. 10 min. each, covering basic learning points for absolute beginners in Spanish." [adapted from website] Learning activities accompany each episode.

Medical Spanish: Phrases, Terms, Dialogues, Anatomy Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
"This site is presented as a free medical Spanish immersion, with vocabulary including greetings, history, examination, and everyday speech, all with translation and audio. It is designed to be helpful for a variety of medical personnel. In addition to introducing Spanish medical terms, this site will hopefully improve fluency and even cultural competency." (from website)

StudySpanish.com Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Over 1,000 pages of tutorials for beginners, intermediate, and advanced speakers. Includes resources for study abroad and cultural competency.

Films on Demand: World Languages Restricted Resource Resource contains videodatabase
Online streaming videos and video segments through Films on Demand covering languages: Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, and Spanish.

LangMedia Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video
Language videos by country.

REALIA project Unrestricted Resource Resource contains images
Realia (materials) that convey life in different cultures; reviewed by language faculty.

Spanish Language Television Broadcasts Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Direct links to Latin American, Spanish, and American websites--watch live and pre-recorded television broadcasts in Spanish!
Databases
Online Databases with Non-English Language Content Unrestricted Resource
Helpful strategies on how to search for articles in French, Spanish, German, Russian, or other languages as they are available in our databases. Compiled by Olivia Olivares.

Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Clase Periodica Restricted Resource findit elm database
Indexes 2600 scholarly journals in Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English covering Latin American social sciences and humanities (Clase) and science and technology (Periodica).
Note: 1975 - present

Communication & Mass Media Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
The main database for Communication Studies and Mass Communications. Searches over 600 journal titles that support research in communication, mass media, linguistics, language learning and related fields of study.

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.

HAPI: Hispanic-American Periodical Index Restricted Resource findit database
HAPI is an index to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. The index covers information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the US-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Note: 1970 - present

Informe Académico Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Spanish- and English-language scholarly journals and popular magazines with an emphasis on the Americas. Topics covered include business, health, technology, culture, current affairs, economics, and more.
Note: 1994 to present

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.

MLA International Bibliography (Languages & Literature) Restricted Resource findit database
Comprehensive current index to articles and chapters in scholarly collections for literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers all the world's languages and literatures, both contemporary and historical.
Note: 1963 - present
Books and EBooks
Biblioteca Virtual Unrestricted Resource
Free Spanish language EBook collection, with a focus on human rights, social sciences, and economics publications from Latin America.  Books available in PDF format, free to download and read offline from any program that can read PDF files.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

Ebooks in Spanish: Electronic Books Online: Public Domain Texts Unrestricted Resource ebook
Spanish language texts from a wide variety of countries, writers, and historical eras. Includes Spanish language texts from Project Gutenberg, Proyecto Cervantes, and Proyecto Ensayo Hispanico.

New Iberian World
REF F1411 .I18 1984 Unrestricted Resource ebook Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A collection of various documents created during the period of the Spanish conquest. Five volumes: "The Conquerors and the Conquered", "The Carribean", "The Andes", "Coastlines and Rivers". Includes descriptions of the native peoples, geography, voyages, cultures, countries. With reproductions of maps, indexes, and a bibliography.
Note: approx 1500 to the early 1600's
Facts, Definitions, Overviews
Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
REF PQ7081 .A1 E56 2000 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A shortened version of the Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature. General articles on the literature of individual countires have been retained in their entirety. Entries on individual authors are somewhat shorter but still quite useful, divided into sections by book.

Dictionary of Literary Biography
Print Location: REFERENCE PN451 .D54 and online
Contains in-depth biographical information on writers, poets, and playwrights world-wide. Each entry places the major works in the context of that person's life. Entries include a list of major works of the author, and a list of references.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture
REF DP233.5 .E63 1999 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
An encyclopedia of Spanish culture, mostly from the time of Franco, but with some material back to 1939. Entries are as short as a paragraph, as long as 1 1/2 pages, and deal with persons, events, broad topics (e.g., 'environment'), etc. Index.

Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
REF PQ7081 .A1 E53 1997x Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A single volume encyclopedia, with entries on writers, works, and topics relating to the literature of Latin America. Includes survey articles on literature in each individual country. Entries include biographical sketch, list of further reading. Volume has a title index and a general index.

Facts on File English/Spanish Visual Dictionary
REF PE1629 .C65 1991x Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
An English-Spanish visual dictionary. Organized by topic (e.g., "optical instruments") and picture (e.g., "telescope"), which makes a variety of uncommon words accessible. With general, thematic, and specialized indexes.

Hispanic Literature Criticism
REF PQ7081 .A1 H573 1994 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A broad selection of the best criticism of works by major Hispanic authors in the last 100 years. Includes a brief biographical note for each author, and then gives a complete critical essay that has been published in the last 100 years. 2 volumes, with an author, nationality, and title index.
Note: to 1994

Historical Dictionary of the Spanish Empire
REF DP56 .H57 1992 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A historical dictionary of the Spanish Empire, 1402-1975. The major people, places, and events are described in brief (from a paragraph to a few pages). Includes a chronology, a selected bibliography, and an index.
Note: 1402-1975

Spanish-English/English-Spanish Dictionary
REF PC4640 .G73 1993 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
The large Larousse bilingual dictionary: Spanish-English and English-Spanish. Almost 800 pages of definitions will find the obscure and the precise meanings.

Spanish Verbs
REF PC4271 .B88 1997 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Over 4,000 verbs in common use are listed. Conjugations are referenced to paradigmatic verbs in 100 pages of model verbs.
Websites
American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese Unrestricted Resource
"Since its inception in 1917, the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese (AATSP) has promoted the study and teaching of Hispanic, Luso-Brazilian, and other related languages, literatures, and cultures at all educational levels. Through an exchange of pedagogical and scholarly information, the AATSP encourages heritage and second-language study and supports projects to that end." (from website)

American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages Unrestricted Resource
"The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) is the only national organization dedicated to the improvement and expansion of the teaching and learning of all languages at all levels of instruction. ACTFL is an individual membership organization of more than 9,000 foreign language educators and administrators from elementary through graduate education, as well as government and industry." (from website)

American Translators Association Unrestricted Resource
"ATA is a professional association founded to advance the translation and interpreting professions and foster the professional development of individual translators and interpreters. Its 10,000 members in more than 90 countries include translators, interpreters, teachers, project managers, web and software developers, language company owners, hospitals, universities, and government agencies." (from website) They offer a certiciation exam for translators, seminars and mini-conferences, as well as an annual conference.

CARLA: Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition Unrestricted Resource
"The Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition (CARLA) is one of the US Department of Educatin's Title VI National Language Resource Centers, whose role is to improve the nation's capacity to teach and learn foreign languages effectively." (From website). Its headquarters are on the University of Minnesota's Twin Cities campus. CARLA organizes an annual conference, second language proficiency assessments, and a working paper series.

Central States Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Language Unrestricted Resource
"Founded and incorporated in 1969, the Central States Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (CSCTFL) is a regional foreign language organization that serves 17 Midwestern states through its annual spring conference...CSCTFL’s aim is to promote the study of world languages on all levels of instruction. CSCTFL publishes the Central Connection three times a year: the Conference Preview, the Conference Preliminary Program, and the Conference Program, It also publishes a conference proceedings book, the CSC Report." (from website)

Internet Resources for Latin America (NMSU) Unrestricted Resource
A high-quality directory of resources on Latin America. Includes links to newspapers, listings of librarians' directories of resources on the topic, links for current events and networking, etc.

Language Conferences Worldwide Unrestricted Resource
Schedule of language-related conferences taking place around the world. Includes conferences for linguistics, second language acquisition, humanities, and other subject areas.

World Languages Day Unrestricted Resource
"World Languages Day is a free, all-day conference for high school students, teachers, and parents. Participants can choose from a wide variety of sessions on language, culture, globalization, and general information about Michigan State University." (From website)
Subject Specialist
Picture: Rachel Wexelbaum

Rachel Wexelbaum
Associate Professor, Collection Management Librarian
MC 135D
(320) 308-4756
rswexelbaum@stcloudstate.edu

Academic Search Premier
Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University