The Library at St. Cloud State University

Special Education

Library resources for Special Education
Finding scholarly journal articles
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

ERIC (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Note: 1966 - present

PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Professional Collection (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
The Professional Collection is a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators. It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training

Teacher Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.
Facts and background information
Available in the Reference Collection on 1st West

Encyclopedia of Special Education
REF LC4007 .E53 2000 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Most entries include bibliography. v. 1. AAAS to dystonia musculorum deformans (DMD)v. 2. Ear and hearing to overcorrection v. 3. Palmar crease to zygosity.

Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education
REF LC4007.E53 2002
Updated abridgement of Encyclopedia of Special Education. 2nd ed. c2000.

Special Education: A Reference Handbook
Ref LC3981 .S33 2001 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Handbook includes special education curriculum, legal issues, advocacy, politics, organizations, and government agencies.

Available online

21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates facing educators today.



Nation's Report Card Unrestricted Resource
The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the largest nationally representative and co‚Äčntinuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas.

U.S. Department of Education Unrestricted Resource
The Department of Education website includes valuable information on all levels of education, including statistical and financial infomation sources. The site provides a useful search engine.

National Center for Education Statistics Unrestricted Resource
This official agency site includes: Education Statistics at a Glance which is comprised of The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, and Projections of Education Statistics. In addition, there is a searchable database of NCES tables and figures. This search tool lets the user locate all tables/figures published in the inventory of NCES' "Education Statistics Quarterly"; the NEDRC (National Education Data Resource Center) Postsecondary Table Library; and many NCES publications.
Ask a Librarian

Click to access email (answered usually within an hour during regular Reference Desk hours), chat (available 24 / 7), phone numbers for SCSU Reference Desk, and online form to set up a one-on-one (in person or via telephone) research consultation with a librarian.
Assistive technology
Journal of Special Education Technology
From the Technolopgy & Media (TAM) Division of the Council for Exceptional Students

This is the key journal for assistive technology. Unfortunately, this journal is NOT indexed in library databases and is available online ONLY through paid membership in the Council of Exceptional Children.

Limited online index is available at this link. Browse the article titles on the index. Click a title link to see abstract and complete information to request interlibrary loan.

Current 2 years on shelf in Periodicals area. Order other issues through Interlibrary Loan by clicking here.

Films on Demand
To locate and view video and video clips from Films on Demand, search by keywords such as:  special education . . .  Films on Demand: Education Unrestricted Resource
Video collection on Education topics. You may limit your results to Foundations, Psychology & Education, Curriculum & Instructions, or Special Education.
Featured library book
The early intervention teaming handbook: The primary service provider approach
LC4019.3 .S54 2013

Leadership practices for special and general educators
LC3969.45 .C35 2013


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University