The Library at St. Cloud State University

Library Resources for Research
TheatreGraphic
Explore Your Topic
Credo Logo


International Dictionary of Theatre
REF PN2035 .I49 1992 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Over 620 plays with signed articles, descriptions, and lists of translations, editions and criticisms.
Note: emphasis on the last 25 years

Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
REF PN2035 .O94 2003 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
The two volume Encyclopedia encompasses opera and film, dance and radio, and para-theatrical, non-dramatic performances including circuses and carnivals--providing coverage from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. Numerous biographical entries cover the lives and work of major figures: actors, playwrights, directors, designer, company managers, and critics. (Amazon Editorial Review)

Best of the Web: Theatre (New York Public Library)
New York Public Library links to Historical Overviews and General Resources, Greek Theatre, Medieval & Renaissance, Shakespeare,Restoration & 18th Century, 19th century, 20th Century.
 

Additional Print Reference Books can be found on 1st floor of the Miller Center Library (call numbers REF PN1600-PN3307).

Find Plays, Books, and Videos
Books and More Advanced Search (MnPALS Plus)
Search by topic, title of play, name of playwright, etc. A play that you need could be included in a larger book of collected works.

Inter-Play
Index to plays published in anthologies. Search by author, play title, or anthology title.
Find Articles and Performance Reviews
The following databases search current and historical newspapers and periodicals. Search by general topic, play or production title, director, playwright, performer, etc. You can also limit by date.

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Type in "review" as one of your keywords



ProQuest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Fulltext of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).

ProQuest Newspapers: Minneapolis Star Tribune Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Minnesota's biggest newspaper. Search and print full-text articles from 1986 onward.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full page and full article images from The New York Times with searchable fulltext from 1851 through 2013. Full indexing is available for articles, performance and book reviews, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth/marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
Note: 1851-2009
Cite Your Sources
Citation Styles
Choose a citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian ...) and follow the guidelines for formatting your paper and references.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
New York Times Theater

Loading ...

Subject Specialist
Picture: Melissa Prescott

Melissa Prescott
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu

Theatre Books in the Library

Miller Center Basement

Books on Drama and Theatre have call numbers beginning with PN1600-PN3307
Search Tips for Library Databases
  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University