The Library at St. Cloud State University

Wildlife Biology

Library Resources for Research
Articles and Databases
Agricola (Agriculture)
Index to articles, book chapters, short reports, and reprints encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. Also search the online catalog of the National Agriculture Library.
bioRxiv
"a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences."
‚Äč
General Science Collection Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Index with full text for more than 200 journals in biology, mathematics, physics, geology, and basic checmistry. Designed primarily for use in introductory courses.
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals

Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.
Reference and Facts

Search for background information on your topic in CREDO Reference


Collins Dictionary of Biology Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
A biology dictionary recently updated to include advancing science and genetics.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology Restricted Resource
"This authoritative A-to-Z resource covers classical morphological and cytological terms along with those from modern genetics and molecular biology.  Extensively cross-referenced, the Dictionary includes definitions of terms, explanations of concepts, and biographies of historical figures."
Encyclopedia of Life
A unique collaboration between scientists and technologists to provide authoritative information about the 1.8 million species, flora and fauna, known to science.
NatureServe
Information about rare and endangered species, ecosystems including a encyclopedia of plants, animals, and ecosystems.
SAGE Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.
Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Full-text reference resource compiled from nearly 640 specialized encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth sciences, environmental sciences, physics, medicine, science & society, and technology.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu

Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Images, Video, and Digital Media
Films on Demand Restricted Resource database Resource contains video
Films on Demand is a streaming media system from Films Media Group that provides educational videos online from all disciplines or subject areas. Users can set up their own accounts and create customized playlists.
Garst Wildlife Photographs
"This site contains over 1300 digitized wildlife slides from a collection donated to Colorado State University Libraries by Warren and Genevieve Garst"
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service: Digital Library
"The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s National Digital Library is a searchable collection of selected images, historical artifacts, audio clips, publications, and video, most of which are in the public domain."
The Cell: An Image Library
"This highly interactive site features still images, videos, and animation derived from the recent literature, as well as classic microscopic from earlier studies."
Research and Citation Guides
Citation Styles (APA, MLA, etc.)
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography.
Council of Science Editors (CSE) Scientific Style
Guide from Colorado State University gives explanations and examples of citing using CSE scientific style.
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
"These writing guidelines are designed to help engineers and scientists communicate their work.  To that end, these guidelines contain advice and models for writing and speaking situations in engineering and science" -- Pennsylvania State University
Designing Conference Posters
Useful guide for "Do's and Don't's" in designing and creating conference posters.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University