The Library at St. Cloud State University

Wikipedia: How to Edit and Create Entries

Around the World with Wikipedia
                                

WIkipedia:Introduction: What Is Wikipedia? Unrestricted Resource
Concise, organized orientation to Wikipedia and how to edit and create entries. Includes an excellent editing tutorial,as well as explanation of shortcuts on how to find resources for editors and contributors.

WIkipedia: Five Pillars Unrestricted Resource
The five fundamental principles of WIkipedia. This page includes Wikipedia norms for behavior and discourse, as well as all Wikipedia polices and guidelines.
Getting Started with Wikipedia
Why create a Wikipedia account?

Create your Wikipedia account!

Wikimedia Commons Unrestricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A collection of nearly 39 million freely usable media files that anyone can use. Set up a Wikipedia account to upload Creative Commons licensed media. Please credit the content creators or providers appropriately if using the media for projects or presentations.

Help: Editing Wikipedia

Visual Editor User Guide

Wikipedia Cheatsheet for Code Unrestricted Resource eref
Don't worry if you don't know html--this cheatsheet is a BIG help to get you started on how to format Wikipedia pages.

Wikipedia Manual of Style

Wikipedia:The Missing Manual Unrestricted Resource eref
Includes information on how to communicate with fellow editors and content creators through Wikipedia, how to add media, categorization of articles, and customizing pages. One stop shop!
Creating an Article
Wikipedia: Article Wizard

Wikipedia: Your first article

Wikipedia:The Perfect Article Unrestricted Resource eref
Characteristics of a high-quality Wikipedia article. Includes links to other helpful editing resources.
WikiProjects of Interest
WikiProject Anti-War Unrestricted Resource
Some Wikipedians have formed a project to better organize information about the key ideas, concepts, people, organizations and events related to anti-war movements, as well as articles about peace and nonviolent conflict resolution. Editors involved in the WikiProject collaborate with suggestions for tasks and projects regarding specific articles or groups of articles.

WikiProject Disability Unrestricted Resource
The aim of Wikiproject Disability is to co-ordinate the improvement and creation of articles related to Disability.

WikiProject Discrimination Unrestricted Resource
Welcome to the Discrimination WikiProject, a collaboration area and group of editors dedicated to improving Wikipedia's coverage of Discrimination topics.

WikiProject Economics Unrestricted Resource
This WikiProject focuses on improving articles related to the field of economics.

WikiProject Feminism Unrestricted Resource
Welcome to WikiProject Feminism, a project which addresses articles related to feminism and maintains the Feminism Portal. If you plan to be active in editing articles relating to feminism, please add your name to the members list. Proposals, suggestions, and activities are discussed on the WikiProject Feminism talk page. For background on the project, read our WikiProject report from The Signpost.

WikiProject LGBT Studies Unrestricted Resource
Welcome to WikiProject LGBT studies! We're a group of editors who aim to improve Wikipedia's coverage of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender (LGBT) and Queer studies topics. WikiProject LGBT studies (WP:LGBT) brings Wikipedia users of various sexual orientations, gender identities, geographic locations, and personal backgrounds together to discuss and collaborate on coverage of LGBT content across Wikipedia. Check out the rest of our project page and Portal:LGBT to see what we've accomplished so far.

WikiProject Organized Labour Unrestricted Resource

Although there is a growing collection of Labour articles, there is a need to improve and widen the scope of Labour in general on Wikipedia. As well, currently there is very limited information on specific union organizations, and their representation within individual business/government bodies.

This project would seek to gather articles together, and organize efforts.

  1. To expand, and globalize, articles related to Organized Labour.
  2. To create and expand articles for individual Labour Organizations.
  3. To establish fair and consistent representation of Labour in business, government, and organizational articles.


WikiProject Sociology Unrestricted Resource
Welcome to WikiProject Sociology, a collaboration area for Wikipedians interested in improving coverage of sociology on Wikipedia. The project's primary purpose is to provide support for members and any other editors in improving Wikipedia's coverage of sociology.

WikiProject Women in Red: Activists Unrestricted Resource
Welcome to WikiProject Women in Red (WiR). Our objective is to turn redlinks into blue ones. Our scope is women's biographies, women's works, and women's issues, broadly construed.
Minnesota Wikipedia Resources
Portal:MInnesota Unrestricted Resource
All Wikipedia articles related to Minnesota. Includes list of articles to work on as well as topics not yet covered.

WikiProject:Minnesota Unrestricted Resource

"This project covers the creation and editing of articles related to the U.S. State of Minnesota, its cities, counties, geography, transportation, culture, history, and so on. It aims to expand Wikipedia's resources on Minnesota in a NPOV and accurate manner.

"This WikiProject was formed to coordinate the development of better articles on the U.S. state of Minnesota. This page and its subpages contain suggestions on formatting and layout of articles, which can be discussed at the project's talk page" (WikiProject Minnesota page).


Index of Minnesota-related Wikipedia Articles Unrestricted Resource eref
The list of existing Minnesota related Wikipedia articles. Great place to start work!
Editing Wikipedia Entries: Videos
Howcast: How to Edit a Wikipedia Article Video


Wikipedia editing basics: Citing Sources (Part 1) Video


Wikipedia editing basics: Citing Sources (Part 2) Video


Wikipedia editing basics: Uploading and Adding Images
How to Throw a Wikipedia Party / Edit-a-Thon
GLAM-Wiki Initiative Unrestricted Resource
"The GLAM-Wiki initiative ("galleries, libraries, archives, and museums" with Wikipedia; also including botanic and zoological gardens) helps cultural institutions share their resources with the world through collaborative projects with experienced Wikipedia editors" (Wikipedia GLAM page). Includes links to Wikimedia Commons and Wikimedia Outreach initiatives.

Wikipedia: Education Program Unrestricted Resource
Wikimedia Foundation's official orientation materials for educators, volunteers, and students to prepare for a successful editathon, class assignment, or course built around creating and editing Wikipedia entries.

Wikipedia: Education Program Materials for Educators Unrestricted Resource
Get involved with the Wikipedia Education Program! Wikipedia will show you how.

Wikipedia: How to run an edit-a-thon (aka "Wikipedia Party")
Subject Specialist
Picture: Rachel Wexelbaum

Rachel Wexelbaum
Associate Professor, Collection Management Librarian
MC 135D
(320) 308-4756
rswexelbaum@stcloudstate.edu

Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Academic Search Premier


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University