The Library at St. Cloud State University

Atlases, Maps, and Gazetteers

Minnesota
Atlas of Minnesota Online Edition
Interactive online maps based on the Atlas of Minnesota, 2nd edition. You can browse topics such as agriculture, people, education, housing, and more.

Online and Interactive Maps (John R. Borchert Map Library)
An index to online and interactive maps (National and International as well as Minnesota) on the web from the John R. Borchert Map Library at the University of Minnesota. Includes links to reference and historical maps as well as downloadable remote sensing and GIS data.

Minnesota Geographic Data Clearinghouse Map Gallery
The Minnesota Geographic Data Clearinghouse Map Gallery provides a "First Stop" source for maps of Minnesota. The Gallery links to finished maps, designed for immediate viewing, downloading or purchase, and to interactive online maps, where users choose what to display from a list of available themes.

Minnesota Historical Society Maps
The map collection at the Minnesota Historical Society consists of about 19,000 maps and nearly 2,000 volumes of atlases. The collection strongly emphasizes the state of Minnesota from 1849 to the present, but also includes selected maps and atlases of a wider geographic area encompassing the Great Lakes and the Mississippi River Valley. 

Minnesota Place Names
Print Location: F604 .U66 2001 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Minnesota Place Names is both a book and a searchable web site, which includes the text of the book and a wealth of further links to information about Minnesota places.

Sanborn Digital Maps 1867-1970 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Historic large scale maps (50 feet to the inch) of cities and towns in Minnesota, Wisconsin, and the Dakotas; maps include buildings and streets with original names. Most maps for Minnesota cities available from about 1880. Note: Access to Sanborn maps for North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin will end on 31 May 2015.
United States
David Rumsey Map Collection
The historical map collection has over 54,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.  

Geographic Names Information System (GMS)
Information for physical and cultural geographic features in the United States and its territories.

Harvard Digital Map Collection
The Harvard Map Collection is one of the oldest and largest collections of cartographic materials in the United States with over 500,000 items. Resources range from 16th century globes to modern maps and geographic information systems (GIS) layers. A selection of our materials has been digitally imaged and is offered both as true picture images and georeferenced copies.

Library of Congress Geography and Maps
Print Location: LC 1.6/4:G 29 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Maps and atlases have been an important part of the collections of the Library of Congress since its beginning in 1800 when a joint congressional committee purchased three maps and an atlas from a London dealer.

The National Map
Provides access to geospatial and cartographic information from the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) National Geospatial Program including topographic maps and other geographic information.   

University of Texas Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
A large collection of online maps for the United States and the world
World
Concise Atlas of World History Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Allows the user to trace the developments in one region of the world through time, or compare the nature of different civilisations in any given period.

CIA Maps
A listing of maps published by the Central Intelligence Agency.

University of Texas Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
A large collection of online maps for the United States and the world

USGS EarthExplorer
Query and view satellite images, aerial photographs, and cartographic products through the U.S. Geological Survey.
 
American Memory
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America.

American Memory's extensive historic map collections can be searched or browsed.
Library of Congress
Maps and atlases have been an important part of the collections of the Library of Congress since its beginning in 1800 when a joint congressional committee purchased three maps and an atlas from a London dealer. Visit the Library of Congress's online collection  or check out the print guide from the Miller Center Library's government documents collection at Call Number: LC 1.6/4:G 29
Minnesota Historical Society
The map collection at the Minnesota Historical Society consists of about 19,000 maps and nearly 2,000 volumes of atlases. The collection strongly emphasizes the state of Minnesota from 1849 to the present, but also includes selected maps and atlases of a wider geographic area encompassing the Great Lakes and the Mississippi River Valley.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Michael Gorman

Michael Gorman
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140F
(320) 308-2028
msgorman@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk - Miller Center 1st Floor W
  • Monday-Thursday: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
  • Friday: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Phone: 320-308-4755
Email: askref@stcloudstate.edu
Related Guides

Social Studies 

Provides resources for citing sources, writing annotated bibliographies and literature reviews, and doing Social Science research.

Geography
Government Publications


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University