The Library at St. Cloud State University

Careers and Graduate School

Facts and Overviews from Reference Sources
Reference Collection -- Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
REF HF5381 .E52 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
5 vol. set includes detailed information on numerous careers: overview, history, requiremements, employers, starting out / advancement, earnings, work environment, outlook, trends, and professional organizations to contact for more information.

O*NET Online (Occupational Information Network) Unrestricted Resource
O*NET is an official website developed by the Department of Labor. The O*NET database includes information on skills, abilities, knowledge, work activities, and interests associated with over 950 occupations. Previous title: Dictionary of Occupational Titles.

Occupational Outlook Handbook Unrestricted Resource
Nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. Describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.

What Color is your Parachute? : A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters & Career-Changers
REF HF5383 .B56 2013 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Find Articles about Career of Your Choice
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO

Occupational Outlook Quarterly    Click to search in Academic Search Premier.

Other databases for specific career fields
  • For business-related careers:
  • For criminal justice-related careers:
  • For education-related careers:
ERIC (Education)
Note: 1966 - present
  • For health and medical-related careers:
  • For science and engineering-related  careers:
Minnesota Government Resources on Careers
Minnesota Salary Survey (MN Department of Employment and Economic Development Data Center)
Print Location: MN Docs HD4976 .M6 A23x and online
Provides the latest and most detailed data available on employment, wages, job growth and more, as well as key economic comparisons between Minnesota and other states.

Minnesota Workforce Center System Unrestricted Resource
Minnesota's WorkForce Center System is the product of government agencies' rethinking of how to deliver employment and training services. From the analysis of workforce development structures and service delivery systems, a vision emerged in which comprehensive, integrated, individualized services would be the outcome.

MNPRO: Minnesota Properties and Community Profiles Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
The Community Profiles portion includes statistical summary of economic development, demographics, workforce, employers, utilities, transportation, education, and business and community services. Produced by the Minnesota Department of Trade and Economic Development.

ISEEK Unrestricted Resource
ISEEK, the Internet System for Education and Employment Knowledge, is a web-based gateway to Minnesota career, employment, education, and business development information and services. The Internet system helps you make smart choices about careers, employment, education, and business growth.

Bureau of Labor Statistics Most Requested Statistics
Questions?
Ask a Librarian button
chat | email | phone | meet
::
careers photo
Other Reference Sources
Browse in the Reference Collection in the HF 5300s for more books on careers, job searches, writing resumes and cover letters, etc.
SCSU Career Resources
SCSU Career Services
Information on job search, resume, interviewing tips, etc. Updated by SCSU Career Services office.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robin Ewing

Robin Ewing
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130B
(320) 308-2093
rlewing@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University