The Library at St. Cloud State University

Chemical Dependency

Background and Facts
Online resources: 

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery Unrestricted Resource
Search by entering topic in Search Within box. Or use the A-Z list of entries or headings. The Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery is intended for use by pre-service and in-service addiction prevention and treatment providers and allied professionals in the fields of criminal justice, counseling, social work, public health, nursing, medicine, other health care professions, education, and family studies.

MedlinePlus: Medical Dictionary Unrestricted Resource
Medical Dictionary


Reference Collection resources:

Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol & addictive behavior
REF HV 5804 .E53 2009 Unrestricted Resource
Social, medical, legal, and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors. 
Locating Scholarly Journals
 Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

MedlinePlus Unrestricted Resource database
MedlinePlus is a source for consumer information about over 700 diseases, their symptoms and treatment options. It includes a medical encyclopedia and dictionary. MedlinePlus is produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other governmental agencies.

PubMed Unrestricted Resource database
"PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books."

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937; covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, etc.

JAMA Restricted Resource
Full text of the Journal of the American Medical Association.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University