The Library at St. Cloud State University

Citation Styles

American Psychological Association (APA)
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
READY REF BF76.7 .P83 2010 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Official manual for APA documentation. Available in print only, in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 6th edition, 2010.

APA Citation Style from Long Island University
Color-coded examples of how to document your sources (i.e. books, journal articles, newspaper articles, etc.) in your works cited page.

APA Documentation from the University of Wisconsin
Provides examples to help you format your paper, document in-text citations, and prepare your reference list in APA style.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (2010 update) (OWL at Purdue)
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

Modern Language Association (MLA)
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
READY REF LB2369 .G53 2016
Official manual for MLA documentation. Print copies of the eighth edition are available in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. For online examples, see the MLA Style Center's "What's New in the Eighth Edition."

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities, including English. This resource offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Eighth Edition (Saginaw Valley State University)
An easy-to-use, color-coded guide that offers many examples of the nine elements of MLA citations.

MLA Style Guide, 8th Edition (IRSC Libraries)
Includes examples for citing sources, formatting your paper, using in-text citations, and  creating your Works Cited list according to the 8th edition of MLA style.
Chicago/Turabian
Chicago Manual of Style
Print Location: READY REF Z253 U69 2003 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Online reference source for the Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide is particularly helpful. Official print manual is available in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 15th, 2003.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
REF LB 2359 .T8 2007 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A useful guide to Chicago Style for students and researchers. Available in print, in the Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 7th edition, 2007.

Chicago Manual of Style (OWL at Purdue)
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists according to the Chicago Manual of Style.

Chicago/Turabian Documentation from the University of Wisconsin
Provides examples on formatting your paper and creating your works cited list in Chicago/Turabian style.
CSE Guide (Council of Science Editors)
Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers: Quick Guide
The CSE (Council of Scientific Editors - formerly CBE) Manual serves is the primary general citation style and manual for the sciences.


Washington State University: CSE Citation Quick Guide
A well detailed CSE quick guide
American Sociological Association (ASA)
Formatting in Sociology (ASA Style)
Provides reference examples for books, journals, and other resources as well as examples for formatting your manuscript and in-text references. Part of "The OWL at Purdue" guides.

Quick Style Guide (American Sociological Association)
Provides examples of reference lists, footnotes and endnotes, and miscellaneous style and grammar tips.
American Chemical Society (ACS)
ACS Style
Chapter from the ACS manual presents style conventions for citing references within a manuscript and for listing complete reference citations.

ACS Style from CiteSource
ACS citation style from the Trinity College Library. 
Citing Government Publications
DocsCite
DocsCite is a step-by-step guide to putting government publication citations into proper style format. 

Citing Government Information Sources (APA Style)
RefWorks
RefWorks button
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
Other Bibliographic Tools
Citation Builder (North Carolina State University)
Type your journal or book information (title, author, year, etc.) into the fields and a citation will be generated for you. Tip: Remember to double check the formatting of your citations.
EasyBib
Enter the information from your resource (title, author, year, etc.) into the fields and a citation will be generated for you in MLA or APA citation style. Tip: Remember to double check the formatting of your citations.
Mendeley
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.

Son of Citation Machine
Type your journal, magazine, or book information (title, author, year, etc.) into the fields and a citation will be generated for you in MLA, APA, Turabian, or Chicago citation style. Tip: Remember to double check the formatting of your citations.
Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources (similar to RefWorks). You need to download the software to your computer and use it with the Firefox browser.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University