The Library at St. Cloud State University

College Counseling and Student Development

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Articles, journals, magazines and newspapers

Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print Restricted Resource database
Check availability
Provides test users with descriptive information, citations to test references, and critical reviews of testing instruments. Covers the Ninth Mental Measurements (1985) to the present; previous editions are available in the Reference Collection. Also includes Tests in Print, a listing of testing tools and test reviews. Provides test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).  Also in print at REF Z5814 .P8 B932, REF Z5814 .E9 T47

SAGE Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full text of over 500 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.

  Facts, definitions, and overviews

Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
Print Location: REF BF31 .E52 2001
Check availability
4 volume set includes references, suggested readings, signed entries, and sometimes contact information after each section.
Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality
Print Location: REF HQ21 .I68 2004
Check availability
Learn about the sexuality, contraception, abortion rates, sexual roles and behavior in over 60 countries.
Encyclopedia of Counseling: Master Review and Tutorial for the National Counselor Examination and State Counseling
Print Location: REF BF637 .C6 R6734 2002
Check availability
Includes entries on human growth and development, social and cultural foundations, theories of counseling, groups, lifestyle and career development, appraisal, research and program evaluation, professional orientation and ethics, and counseling families. Also includes study guides for National Counselor Examination and State Counseling Exams.
Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology
Print Location: REF LB 1050.9 .E63 2008
Check availability
Articles are signed and include a Further Reading section. Vol. 1 includes a Reader's Guide (p. xi) with related entries listed under themes such as Classroom Management; Ethnicity, Race, and Culture; Families; Intelligence and Intellectual Development; Learning and Memory; Peers and Peer Influences; and many other topics.
Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Includes definitions as well as lengthy articles with references on wide variety of social science research topics: qualitative research, quantitative research, basic statistics, ethnography, evaluation, experimental design, interviewing, longitudinal analysis, scaling, significance testing, survey design, and other related topics.
Encyclopedia of Stress
Print Location: REF BF 575 .S75 E52 2000
Check availability
3 vol. A-Z encyclopedia with almost 400 entries. Topics cover physiological, biochemical, and genetic aspects of stress, as well as human health, human cognition, and emotion.
Law of Higher Education: A Comprehensive Guide to Legal Implications of Administrative Decision Making
Print Location: Ref KF 4225 .K36 2006
Check availability
A thorough treatise covering all aspects of legal issues in higher education administration. In 2 volumes.

  Websites

CollegeGrad.com
Internet job search service for college students and recent graduates. Includes career information, job search advice, resume, cover letters, employer research, job postings, interview preparation, salaries, electronic resume posting, and other services.
CollegeSource Online Some full text available
Indexes complete catalogs for 21,529 postsecondary schools, including 2-year, 4-year, graduate, and professional schools. Search by geography, tuition range, enrollment, affiliation, school name, or keyword.
National Campus Compact
"Campus Compact is a national coalition of more than 1,100 college and university presidents — representing some 6 million students — who are committed to fulfilling the civic purposes of higher education. As the only national higher education association dedicated solely to campus-based civic engagement, Campus Compact promotes public and community service that develops students’ citizenship skills, helps campuses forge effective community partnerships, and provides resources and training for faculty seeking to integrate civic and community-based learning into the curriculum." (from the website)
Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource database
This Premium Collection includes access to a wide range of Oxford titles covering dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. The database is fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable. Titles such as: Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series, the Visual English Dictionary, the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations and the Encyclopedia of Mammals are included and updated regularly. There are over 1.4 million entries, including longer, in-depth, signed entries with bibliographies.

  Laws, legislation, and government reports

Transgender Law and Policy Institute
State legislation, court cases, college policies, school policies, and employment policies that affect transpeople. Includes resources for transpeople who need legal information or other services.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University