The Library at St. Cloud State University

Creative Writing

Library Resources for Research
Creative writing
Find scholarly journal articles
MLA International Bibliography (Languages & Literature) Restricted Resource findit database
Comprehensive current index to articles and chapters in scholarly collections for literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers all the world's languages and literatures, both contemporary and historical.
Note: 1963 - present

Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource database
Provides access to full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Background Information and resources
The Penguin Rhyming Dictionary
Online access
It offers a wide range of suggestions for rhyming words, from the common and everyday to the more difficult and obscure.




Oxford Rhyming Dictionary
Print Location: REF PE1519 .U67 2004
Check availability
With over 85,000 entries, it is a very comprehensive rhyming dictionary.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jennifer Quinlan

Jennifer Quinlan
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140G
(320) 308-5626
jmquinlan@stcloudstate.edu

Publishing opportunities for writers
Poets & Writers Literary Magazines Database:
"Connect your poems, stories, essays, and reviews to the right audiences by researching over eight hundred literary magazines in our database. Here, you’ll find editorial policies, submission guidelines, contact information—everything you need to direct your work to the publications most amenable to your vision."

NewPages.com
"NewPages.com is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more."
LitFinder
Websites of interest
Poetry Foundation:
The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. Web site provides extensive poetry resources and information on poetry events.

Poets & Writers:
Information, support, and guidance for creative writers since 1970. Find writing contests, grants for writers, news, small presses, and much more.

Poets.org:
Provides over 2,500 poems as well as biographies and essays, audio clips, poetry videos, and materials for educators.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University