The Library at St. Cloud State University

EDAD 601: Introduction to Educational Administration

Library Resources for EDAD 601


education by Sean MacEntee
Find journal articles in library databases

ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.

Educator's Reference Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
This database complements ERIC by providing fulltext to about 1100 journals indexed in ERIC, as well as about a dozen standard reference titles related to Education--such as the encyclopedias of Education, Educational Leadership and Administration, Sociology, and Psychology. Covers all levels and areas of Education.

Professional Collection (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
The Professional Collection is a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators. It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.


Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Business Source Premier searches 350 scholarly journals back to 1965. Includes searchable references for more than 1,170 journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.

Google Scholar Restricted Resource database
Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. When on campus click on "Available via SCSU FindIt" to locate the item through the Library's subscriptions.   

PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.


FindIt!  This software checks all SCSU library databases to locate full text of articles. If full text is not available, read the screen to see if the library has a copy in another format (bound volumes, microfiche, recent issues) or if you need to use interlibrary loan to get a copy.

Interlibrary Loan 
Complete an interlibrary loan request form to order a book or article that is not available at the Miller Center Library. You'll need your StarID and password to complete the form. You will receive an email when your item is available for you. 

Services for Distance Students

Finished your classes but not your thesis or starred paper? Your instructor or advisor can request that your library privileges be extended while you work on your project. Requests are made by completing the form that is linked on the Checkout Policies page.

Find Books
Books and More Search (MnPALS Plus)
Click Advanced Search for more options.

WorldCat Restricted Resource database
WorldCat is a catalog of materials from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and use Interlibrary Loan to request items St. Cloud State University does not own.

EBooks and EReader Apps
Dissertation and Thesis Search
Dissertations and Theses Restricted Resource elm database
Catalog of all dissertations and thesis cataloged by member libraries in OCLC WorldCat.

Dissertation Abstracts - PQDT Open Unrestricted Resource findit database
Selective index to open access masters theses and dissertations from U.S., Canada, Great Britain, and Europe. Note: This is an open access subset of Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI).
St. Cloud State University Thesis Collection
Theses and starred papers completed by St. Cloud State University students are collected and maintained by the Library and are located in Basement West. These papers are searchable through the Library catalog.
 

Search for theses and starred papers

 
Getting Background Information
Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Includes definitions as well as lengthy articles with references on wide variety of social science research topics: qualitative research, quantitative research, basic statistics, ethnography, evaluation, experimental design, interviewing, longitudinal analysis, scaling, significance testing, survey design, and other related topics.


National Center for Education Statistics Unrestricted Resource
This official agency site includes: Education Statistics at a Glance which is comprised of The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, and Projections of Education Statistics. In addition, there is a searchable database of NCES tables and figures. This search tool lets the user locate all tables/figures published in the inventory of NCES' "Education Statistics Quarterly"; the NEDRC (National Education Data Resource Center) Postsecondary Table Library; and many NCES publications.

What Works Clearinghouse from the Institute of Education Sciences

Campus Research (formerly Westlaw Campus) Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
WestLaw Campus includes the fulltext of many West legal publications covering all federal and state court cases, and Supreme Court cases after 1944, US Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, state administrative codes and state statutes; also includes American Jurisprudence 2d., American Law Reports, and state law journals and law reviews. Can search by keyword, citation (e.g., 98 S.CT 2733), case title (e.g., Roe v. Wade), or by act (e.g., Clean Air Act).

‚ÄčCongress.gov Unrestricted Resource
Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information.  Includes the Congressional Record, text and status of legislation, member directory, and committee assignments.  


Minnesota Statutes
Print Location: latest year in REF KFM 5430 .A24x earlier years in MN DOCS KFM 5430 .A24x Unrestricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
The laws of the state of Minnesota.

AASA: The School Superintendents Association Unrestricted Resource
Links to policies, resources, leadership, children's programs, and other topics of interest to school administrators.

National Association of Secondary School Principals
 
Literature Reviews
Literature Reviews 
From the Writing Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 

Write a Literature Review (Includes video tutorials)
From Virginia Commonwealth University Libraries
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robin Ewing

Robin Ewing
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130B
(320) 308-2093
rlewing@stcloudstate.edu

Research consultation
As you work on your culminating project, I encourage you to meet with me for a research consultation. Research consultations provide in-depth guidance in finding the best resources for your topic. Please complete the form on our Ask a Librarian page.
Write Place
Write Place
The Write Place offers free, one-on-one tutoring to all members of the St. Cloud State University community, at any stage in the writing process. They are located in Building 51 and also have a satellite location in the Miller Center Library on first floor.
The Write Place also consults online by appointment during office hours. Click Make an Appointment and after the login, click Online Appointment box to schedule.
Citing Sources
APA Formatting and Style Guide (2010 update) (OWL at Purdue) Unrestricted Resource
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.

RefWorks YouTube Tutorials  
Recommended tutorial:  2.4 Finding Full Text and Saving File Attachments in RefWorks

RefWorks Basics (.pdf) Unrestricted Resource
A one-page guide with directions for managing citations and creating bibliographies in RefWorks.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University