The Library at St. Cloud State University

eBooks and eReader Apps

What is an eBook?
"An electronic book (variously, e-book, ebook, digital book, or even e-edition) is a book-length publication in digital form, consisting of text, images, or both, produced on, or published through, and readable on computers or other electronic devices."

-- Gardiner, Eileen and Ronald G. Musto. "The Electronic Book." In Suarez, Michael Felix, and H.R. Woudhuysen. The Oxford Companion to the Book. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010, p. 164.
eBooks Available for SCSU Users
EBSCO eBook collection Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase ebook
This eBook collection contains full-text eBooks covering a variety of topics. These are the digital versions of books and are available 24/7 from on or off campus.
To download and read EBSCO eBooks offline, it is necessary to create a free personal EBSCOHost account. Please click here for instructions.
To download and read EBSCO eBooks offline, you may need one of the following programs (free downloads):
Adobe Digital Editions (for computer, Nook, and some Android models).
Bluefire Reader App (for iPads, iPhones, and some Android models).

Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text access to more than 150 scholarly journals and eBooks in all disciplines published by Johns Hopkins University and several other university presses.

All eBooks in this collection are PDFs with unlimited access. They can be downloaded, read on any web browser, and read through any program that can read PDFs.

Search Project MUSE®

 

http://muse.jhu.edu



All eBooks in this collection are currently HTML-based and can be read on any web browser.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
All eBooks in this collection are currently HTML-based and can be read on any web browser. Search for encyclopedia entries through Credo's database or search for individual encyclopedias.

SAGE Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.
All eBooks in this collection are currently HTML-based and can be read on any web browser. Individual chapters can be downloaded as a PDF and loaded into eBook readers or handheld computers in that format. 

STATSnetBASE
All eBooks in this collection are currently available in PDF format. They can be downloaded, read on any web browser, and read through any program that can read PDFs. This is a great eBook collection for Statistics!
eBooks Available for Everyone
Project Gutenberg Unrestricted Resource
A collection of more than 15,000 free electronic books.

Free Book Notes Unrestricted Resource database ebook
Find study guides and summaries from eNotes, Spark Notes, CliffNotes, and more! A collection of literary resources for over 44,000 books. [Study guides and teaching materials ONLY.]

Free-eBooks.net Unrestricted Resource
Enjoy unlimited reading at Free-eBooks.net. Independent authors of all genres provide their eBooks here to read, at no charge. Users must create their own accounts to access all content.

Free TechBooks.com Unrestricted Resource
Free online computer science, engineering and programming books, textbooks, and lecture notes. This site provides links to EBooks hosted on websites belonging to the authors or publishers.

ManyBooks.net Unrestricted Resource
Free electronic versions of books that have become public domain titles. Search by author, title, genre, or language. New titles, recommended titles, and most popular titles are advertised on a regular basis. Download an EBook in the appropriate file format for your EReader, EReading app, or other mobile device.

National Academies Press Unrestricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Downloadable PDF versions of more than 4,000 books and technical reports on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy.

The Online Books Page Unrestricted Resource
A listing of over 1 million free EBooks on the Web. Search by author, title, subject, or call number range. Includes link to "Everybody's Libraries" blog, lists of free EBooks by women's writers, banned books, and more.
Note: onlinebook

Biblioteca Virtual
Spanish eBook collection with a focus on human rights, economics, and social sciences in various Latin American countries. eBooks are available in PDF format, and can be downloaded for offline reading through any software that can read PDF files.
eReader Apps
All listed eReader apps and programs are FREE.

Adobe Digital Editions Unrestricted Resource
To read EBSCOHost EBooks on your computer, Nook, and some Android models. For a complete list of devices that require Adobe Digital Editions for EReading, click here.

Bluefire Reader App Unrestricted Resource
To read EBSCOHost Ebooks on iPads, iPhones, and some Android models, you need the Bluefire Reader App. Click here for download, FAQs, and instructions on how to read EBooks from your library.
Note: bluefireapp

Kindle Reading App Unrestricted Resource
You don't need to own a Kindle to enjoy Kindle books. Download your free app for any computer or mobile device from this website.
Note: kindleapp

Nook App Unrestricted Resource
You don't need to own a Nook to read B&N Nook EBooks. Download the free app for your computer or mobile device here.
Note: nookapp

Sony Reader App Unrestricted Resource
You don't need a SONY Reader to enjoy their EBooks. Choose the free Sony Reader app that is appropriate for your computer or mobile device from this website.
Note: sonyapp
 
Search the Library catalog for eBooks
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Rachel Wexelbaum

Rachel Wexelbaum
Associate Professor, Collection Management Librarian
MC 135D
(320) 308-4756
rswexelbaum@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University