The Library at St. Cloud State University

Publishing Your Research

Purpose
This page is for faculty and students seeking publishing opportunities and the means to gauge the weight (impact) and distribution of their own published research.
Before you begin: Know your rights
U. S. Copyright Office Unrestricted Resource
Includes information about copyright including frequently asked questions, how to register a work, law and policy related to copyright, news and press releases from the Copyright Office and much more. You can also search copyright records cataloged from 1978 to the present.

Copyright (MnSCU) Unrestricted Resource
Provides an overview of copyright law and history, definitions of works covered by copyright, and information on fair use including guidelines for use of materials in the classroom. This site has a "sister site" on intellectual property available at http://intellectualproperty.mnscu.edu/.

SPARC - Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Committee
SPARC is an international alliance of academic and research libraries working to create a more open system of scholarly communication by advocating for open access to scholarly and scientific research articles. Take a look at the SPARC Resources page for more on SPARC's work and what the organization can do for you. 
 
Where to Publish
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Each Directory helps professors, researchers, and students select journals that are most likely to publish a manuscript. The index in each Directory helps match the characteristics of a manuscript to the topic areas the journal emphasizes, the type of review process, acceptance rate and number of external reviewers. Separate directories are available for Accounting, Economics and Finance, Management, Marketing, Educational Curriculum and Methods, Educational Psychology and Administration, and Psychology.

MLA International Directory of Journals
Within MLA International is a directory that lets you search for journals indexed by MLA International (these are primarily in the humanities and social sciences), then lists editorial information about those journals: editorial policy, submission information, and so forth. Search by journal title or by subject. Go to MLA International Bibliography (Languages & Literature)
Note: 1963 - present, and choose Directory of Journals from the pulldown menu under "Advanced Search."



Elsevier Journal Finder
This service helps you find appropriate journals published by Elsevier to which to submit your work for publication. 

Springer Journal Selector (Beta)
Scroll down the page to get to Springer's Journal Selector, which will help you choose appropriate journals published by Springer to which to submit your work for publication.

JANE - Journal/Author/Name Estimator
Enter the title and abstract of your article. JANE will match them to articles published in MEDLINE to find journals that would be appropriate venues for your published research.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.

DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals

 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Citing Your Work
Citation Styles and RefWorks Unrestricted Resource
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography.

 
Impact Factors and Citation Analysis
Scopus (SciVerse) Analytics Restricted Resource
Use the Journal Analyzer to compare up to 10 journals on a variety of parameters: total number of citations, documents, and percentage of articles not cited.

Eigenfactor.org Unrestricted Resource database
Eigenfactor ranks scholarly journals in the natural and social sciences (and also newsprint, PhD theses, and popular magazines) using citation data and journal price.

Publish or Perish
Publish or Perish is software from Harzing.com that allows you to retrieve and analyze journal citations. The software can be downloaded from the website free of charge, but has certain system requirements; consult the website to see if your computer is capable.

Google Scholar Citations
From the website: "Google Scholar Citations provide a simple way for authors to keep track of citations to their articles. You can check who is citing your publications, graph citations over time, and compute several citation metrics. You can also make your profile public, so that it may appear in Google Scholar results when people search for your name."


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University