The Library at St. Cloud State University

Government Publications

Constitution Day
Constitution Day
Constitution Day is observed each year on September 17 to commemorate the signing of the Constitution in 1787. The library's Constitution Day page links to historical and educations resources.  
Voting Information
Elections and Voting 

Minnesota Secretor of State's official voter resource - register to vote, find your polling place, vote early by absentee, and much more. 

Subject Specialist
Picture: Michael Gorman

Michael Gorman
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140F
(320) 308-2028
msgorman@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk - Miller Center 1st Floor W
  • Monday-Thursday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
  • Friday: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Sunday: 4:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Phone: 320-308-4755
Email: askref@stcloudstate.edu
Gov Docs in the Miller Center
The Government Documents collection at St. Cloud State University is located in James W. Miller Learning Resources Center.  Print government publications are shelved in the west wing of the basement.  Maps and microfiche are located in the west wing of the first floor.  Government Documents are arranged by the Superintendent of Documents (SUDOCS) classification system. This system is based on government organization rather than subjects, which keeps all publications from the same department or agency together.

The Government Documents collection can be searched through MnPALS, the library's online catalog.  Most Government publications circulate and may be checked out at the Circulation Desk located on the first floor west of the Miller Center.   Items not available at St. Cloud State University may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Federal Depository Library Program
The St. Cloud State University library is a partial depository in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP).  Established by Congress in 1813 to ensure that the American public has access to the information it produced, the FDLP provides Government Documents to depository libraries throughout the country at no cost.  In return, depository libraries collect, organize, maintain, preserve, and assist users with information from the Federal Government. 

The St. Cloud State University library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)
Minnesota Government
St. Cloud State University is also a depository for publications of the State of Minnesota. Many documents are available in print and microfiche in the Government Publications areas. The State of Minnesota currently provides online access to its publications through its website. 

Minnesota.gov
The official website for the state of Minnesota.

Minnesota Judicial Branch
Information about the Minnesota Court System including a self-help center, court locator, and court calendar. 

Minnesota Law
Includes Minnesota Statutes, Session Laws, and Adminstrative Rules, Court Rules, and the Constitution. 

Minnesota Legislation and Bill Tracking
Track bills in the House and Senate for the current session or for previous years back to 1993. Links to House and Senate Journals, House and Senate committee assignments, Guides for following a bill, and vetoes since 1939.

Minnesota Legislative Manual
The Minnesota Legislative Manual (Blue Book) is a reference guide containing information about Minnesota, its form of government, and its elected officials.  It is prepared and published every two years by this office for the state legislature. Archived copies of the Legislative Manual are available in the Government Documents collection at the call number MN DOCS JK 6131 .A252x.

State Government Web Sites (U.S.)
Links to the official state government Web sites, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories and outlying areas.
Citation Guides


DocsCite
DocsCite is a step-by-step guide to putting government publication citations into proper style format. 

Citing Government Information Sources (APA Style)
 
Taxes
Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
The website of the United States' tax collection agency, this site provides tax forms and publications, statistics, the tax code, and news about tax-related issues.

Minnesota Department of Revenue
Minnesota tax information, downloadable state tax forms and other publications, access to special programs and services.

Federation of Tax Administrators
Links to state tax form or filing sites

For additonal information see the Tax Information page.
Government Publications
Government Publications are materials that have been published by an official office or agency of a government. The United States government is the largest publisher in the world, publishing thousands of items a year on wide range of topics in a variety of formats. Government Publications include laws and treaties, consumer materials, Presidential documents, Congressional hearings, Census publications, and research reports. Government Publications comes in many formats including books, pamphlets, maps, microfiche, and webpages. Government agencies are making an increasing amount of information available online.

Search the Library's print and online government publications


USA.gov and FDSYS are two gateways to begin accessing online government information.


USA.gov is the official web
portal to all federal, state,
and local government web resources and services.  

The Government Publishing Office's Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides online access to official publications from the Federal Government.  Search and browse documents in over 50 collections archived for permanent access. 
Getting Started

                                             Basic Collection of Government Publictions
Includes vital sources of information that support the public's right to know about
the workings and essential activities of the Federal Government.

Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government
Designed to inform students, parents, and educators about our nation’s Federal government, history, and political structure.  

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The most current index to government documents.

Federal Agency Directory
Find contact information for federal government departments and agencies.

GovSpeak: A guide to U.S. Government acronyms and abbreviations
This guide lists acronyms and abbreviations commonly used by the United States
federal government. Each acronym is defined and links to the home page of the
identified department, agency, office, program or publication.


United States Government Manual
This is the official handbook provided by the federal government on the agencies of the three branches of government.

Executive
White House
The offical webpage of the President of the United States.

American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project has consolidated and organized a wide range of primary source documents of the Presidents.  

Budget of the United States Government
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB)

Code of Federal Regulations
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation.

Compilation of Presidential Documents
Consists of the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.

Economic Report of the President
Sponsored by the Executive Office of the President and located at the Web site of the U.S. Government Printing Office, the report explains the rational for the budget submitted to Congress.

Federal Register
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.

Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
The official publication of the President’s addresses, writings, and remarks.
Congressional
Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information.  Includes the Congressional Record, text and status of legislation, member directory, and committee assignments.  
Congressional Directory
Includes short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district, and committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers for Members of Congress.

Congressional Record
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. FDsys contains Congressional record volumes from 140 (1994) to the present online. 

Public and Private Laws
Public and private laws are also known as slip laws. A slip law is an official publication of the law and is competent evidence admissible in all state and Federal courts and tribunals of the United States. Public laws affect society as a whole, while private laws affect an individual, family, or small group.

United States Statutes at Large
Official source for the public and private laws passed by Congress.  The American Memory site covers the years 1789-1873.
Government Services
U.S. Government Services
An index to a wide range of government services. 


Americans with Disabilities Act
Information and technical assistance on the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Benefits.gov
Provides easy access to government benefit and assistance programs.

Bureau of Consumer Protection
The Federal Trade Commission's Bureau of Consumer Protection works to prevent fraud, deception, and unfair business practices in the marketplace.

Business.gov
“A collaborative effort managed by the U.S. Small Business Administration. …Business.gov provides a one-stop, common access point for Federal Government services and information needed to assist with starting, running, and growing a business.”

CareerOneStop
Sponsored by the US Department of Labor, this resource provides comprehensive, up-to-date, and reliable information on careers and job opportunities. The site is organized into six major areas: Explore Careers, Salary & Benefits, Education & Training, Job Search, Resumes & Interviews, and People & Places to Help. Also contains valuable links to One-Stop Career Centers located in all 50 states.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Provides a full listing of all Federal programs available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals.

Citizenship and Immigration Services
Information and services about immigrating to the United States and becoming a citizen.  

Consumer.gov
Consumer protection basics from the Federal Trade Commission. 

Disability.gov
The federal government website for comprehensive information about disability-related programs, services, policies, laws and regulations. The site links to thousands of resources from many different federal government agencies, as well as state and local governments and nonprofit organizations across the country.

GovLoans.gov
Provides information on government loans.

Grants.gov
Find and apply for Federal grants.  

Publications.USA.gov
For more than 40 years, the Federal Citizen Information Center (FCIC) has been a trusted one-stop source for answers to questions about consumer problems and government services.  Publications.USA.gov replaces the former Pueblo.GSA.gov. The new site provides better navigation; search; shopping experience; and now some of your favorite publications in popular e-reader formats.  

Small Business Administration
Provides guides for creating business plans and marketing strategies, as well as information about taxes, laws and regulations, and patents and trademarks as they apply to small businesses in the United States. Also links and information for business grants, loans, and venture capital investors.

Social Security Handbook
The resource for all Social Security questions.


Student Aid
Information for students and families about the availability of the federal student aid programs and the process for applying for and receiving aid from those programs.

Veteran's Affairs
Benefits information, resources, and much more for veterans.
International
Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
Publication of the Department of State that focuses on U.S.-country relations and diplomacy.  

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

United Nations
Offers news releases, virtual tours, documents, and basic information about the United Nations and its bodies. Three different search engines explore a large database and list of links. The site includes a wealth of reports, statistical data, and other information on human rights, international law, peacekeeping missions, and other topics (Diana Hacker, 2003).
Judicial
United States Courts
The purpose of this site is to provide information from and about the Judicial Branch of the U.S. Government.  Includes a court locator, information on court services, and educational resources. 

United States Supreme Court
Information about the U.S. Supreme Court includes court opinions, oral arguements, and court docket. 

United States Reports
Contains the Supreme Court’s opinions.

Constitution of the United States: Analysis and Interpretation
Also known as the Constitution Annotated, it is the legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based primarily on Supreme Court cases.

Minnesota Judicial Branch
Information about the Minnesota Court System including a self-help center, court locator, and court calendar. 
Statistics
AgingStats.gov
"...the latest data on the 37 key indicators selected by the Forum (Federal Interagency Forum on Aging -Related Statistics)  to portray aspects of the lives of older Americans and their families."

American Community Survey
Provides up-to-date statistical summaries based on US Census data for states, selected cities(with populations greater than 65,000) and counties. Similar to the American FactFinder.

American FactFinder
Tables and maps of most recent demographic and economic data for all geographies including the U.S., states, counties, cities, towns, American Indian reservations, metropolitan areas, zip codes, census tracts, blocks, and more. Produced by the US Census Bureau.

Bureau of Economic Analysis
BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public. (Website)

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Includes statistics on crimes & victims, criminal offenders, special topics, national and statement law enforcement, prosecution, courts and sentencing, corrections, expenditures and criminal records' systems. Also includes data for analysis (data sets, spread sheets, code books), and links to other relevant sources. Includes comprehensive list of published reports and surveys.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
"The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics."

Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Collects informtion about all aspects of travel and transportation in the United States including personal travel, public transportation, and freight. 

Census of Population and Housing
Population and housing characteristics from the deccenial censuses of 1790-2010.

Childstats.gov
Provides a summary of national indicators of child well-being and monitors changes in these indicators over time.

Economic Indicators
Published monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, Economic Indicators provide economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, and more.

Energy Information Administration
Tracks energy production and consumption from a variety of sources on a national and state level. 

National Agricultural Statistical Service
The National Agricultural Statistics Service provides timely, accurate, and useful statistics in service to U.S. agriculture.

National Center for Education Statistics
This official agency site includes: Education Statistics at a Glance which is comprised of The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, and Projections of Education Statistics. In addition, there is a searchable database of NCES tables and figures. This search tool lets the user locate all tables/figures published in the inventory of NCES' "Education Statistics Quarterly"; the NEDRC (National Education Data Resource Center) Postsecondary Table Library; and many NCES publications.

National Centers for Environmental Information
NOAA’s National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) are responsible for hosting and providing access to one of the most significant archives on earth, with comprehensive oceanic, atmospheric, and geophysical data. From the depths of the ocean to the surface of the sun and from million-year-old tree rings to near real-time satellite images, NCEI is the Nation’s leading authority for environmental information.

National Center for Health Statistics
The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data.

National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics

The National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES) is the nation's leading provider of statistical data on the U.S. science and engineering enterprise. Explore our website for data on research and development, the science and engineering workforce, the condition and progress of STEM education, and U.S. competitiveness in science, engineering, technology, and R&D


Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
Immigration data, published annually by the Office of Immigration Statistics.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University