The Library at St. Cloud State University

Graduate-Level Research

Welcome to SCSU!
Searching for library resources
Books and More: The Library Catalog
Articles and Databases
  • ‚ÄčWrite Place Unrestricted Resource
    The Write Place offers free, one-on-one tutoring to all members of the St. Cloud State University community, at any stage in the writing process. They are located in Building 51 and also have a satellite location in the Miller Center Library on first floor.
     
  • Journal Titles Unrestricted Resource
    Check the availability of journal and newspaper titles through the SCSU library.
Library Services
Reference and Research Assistance
Need someone with whom to discuss your research? Want to find out how to start a major research project? Reference librarians are glad to meet with you individually to help you get started. Please see the Subject Specialist list on this page to find out which librarian has expertise in your subject area, or the Ask A Librarian! section on this page for regular reference and research assistance hours.

Circulation
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Unrestricted Resource
Login with your StarID and complete an interlibrary loan request form to order a book or article that is not available from our library. You will receive an email when your item is available for you.

Research Tips and Tutorials Unrestricted Resource
Tutorials and guides help you get started with your research, including how to find scholarly journals and utilize library resources and services.

Technology instruction
Attend workshops on numerous software packages and applications, including social media, multimedia production, and presentation tools. For training on specific tools like Microsoft Office and Photoshop, see Technology Training and Workshops.

Husky Fetch
Need books from the Library, but don't have time to go search for them in the building? Husky Fetch is the name of our paging service. Just place a hold on the book/s you want through the library catalog, and Husky Fetch will assemble them for you and have them waiting at the Circulation Desk. 

For Graduate and Teaching Assistants
Subject Specialists

Need to consult a librarian about your research? These librarians are available by appointment and during office hours for consultation on an individual and group basis. See the list for subject specialties.


College of Liberal Arts & School of the Arts

Tina Gross
308-4771, tmgross@stcloudstate.edu
Plamen Miltenoff  (European History)
308-3072, pmiltenoff@stcloudstate.edu
Melissa Prescott
308-4751, mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu
Jennifer Quinlan
308-5626, jmquinlan@stcloudstate.edu
Rachel Wexelbaum 
308-4756, rswexelbaum@stcloudstate.edu


College of Science & Engineering

Cindy Gruwell
308-1508, cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu
Susan Hubbs
308-4996, shubbs@stcloudstate.edu
Keith Ewing
308-4824, kewing@stcloudstate.edu


Herberger Business School

Olivia Olivares
308-4822, oolivares@stcloudstate.edu


School of Education

Robin Ewing
308-2093, rlewing@stcloudstate.edu
Jo Flanders
308-2064, jlflanders@stcloudstate.edu
Chris Inkster (Fall semester only)
308-4930, cinkster@stcloudstate.edu


School of Health and Human Services

Jo Flanders
308-2064, jlflanders@stcloudstate.edu
Michael Gorman
308-2028, msgorman@stcloudstate.edu
Cindy Gruwell
308-1508, cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu
Chris Inkster (Fall semester only)
308-4930, cinkster@stcloudstate.edu


School of Public Affairs

Jo Flanders
308-2064, jlflanders@stcloudstate.edu
Michael Gorman
308-2028, msgorman@stcloudstate.edu
Olivia Olivares
308-4822, oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

 

Specialized Service Units in the Library
Multicultural Resource Center Unrestricted Resource
Provides services and resources for students, faculty, staff and community members to research, teach about, and broaden their knowledge of historically excluded racial and ethnic groups of color in the United States, located on 1st Floor West.

University Archives Unrestricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search through finding aids for processed collections and scanned images available online from SCSU's University Archives. Highlights of the online collections include many historic photographs and Sinclair Lewis letters to Marcella Powers.

Write Place Unrestricted Resource
The Write Place offers free, one-on-one tutoring to all members of the St. Cloud State University community, at any stage in the writing process. They are located in Building 51 and also have a satellite location in the Miller Center Library on first floor.

Center for Holocaust and Genocide Education
From the Center's website: "The primary role of the Center for Holocaust and Genocide Education (CHGE) is to serve as a program of academic support for students, faculty, staff, and community. Its function is to create education about the Holocaust and other genocides through material resources and consultation. In addition, it seeks to increase awareness and knowledge of multidisciplinary approaches to its study, and develop sensitivity to and understanding of anti-Semitism, racism, sexism, hatred, oppression, and other ideological constructs and forms of behavior that lead to human suffering."

The Wired Cafe
Need a break? The Wired Cafe is open 24/7 (afterhours access with a CampusCard) and has comfy couches and chairs, as well as power outlets and WiFi. Need coffee, tea or a snack? Starbucks operates a beverage and food service in the cafe beginning in the early morning and continuing until late evening.

 
Citation Management and Refworks
Citation Styles and RefWorks Unrestricted Resource
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography.
 
Theses, Dissertations and Starred Papers
SCSU Theses Collection
Theses, dissertations and starred papers produced by SCSU graduate students for degree credit, located in Basement West.

Dissertations and Theses Restricted Resource elm database
Catalog of all dissertations and thesis cataloged by member libraries in OCLC WorldCat.

Dissertation Abstracts - PQDT Open Unrestricted Resource findit database
Selective index to open access masters theses and dissertations from U.S., Canada, Great Britain, and Europe. Note: This is an open access subset of Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI).

Global ETD Search - Global Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Search

Citation Analysis
  • Scopus (SciVerse) Analytics Restricted Resource
    Use the Journal Analyzer to compare up to 10 journals on a variety of parameters: total number of citations, documents, and percentage of articles not cited.
     
  • Eigenfactor.org Unrestricted Resource database
    Eigenfactor ranks scholarly journals in the natural and social sciences (and also newsprint, PhD theses, and popular magazines) using citation data and journal price.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University