The Library at St. Cloud State University

HIED 800: U.S. Higher Education

HIED 800: U. S. Higher Education
Keeping Current
Chronicle of Higher Education Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the premier source of news and statistics about higher education. In addition to an online weekly newspaper, the Chronicle provides valuable in-depth articles on aspects of higher education and is a source of useful statistics on faculty and administrative compensation, admissions, graduation rates, tuition and fees, gender equity, etc. 1998 to present.

Inside Higher Ed Unrestricted Resource
"Inside Higher Ed is the online source for news, opinion and jobs for all of higher education." A search engine is provided.  
Click Get Our Daily News Update at bottom of screen to sign up for free email delivery.
 
Finding Articles

ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.

Professional Collection (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
The Professional Collection is a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators. It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training

Professional Development Collection Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Full-text access to 520 periodicals related to education, including 350 peer-reviewed journals. Also contains more than 200 educational reports.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Dissertation Abstracts - PQDT Open Unrestricted Resource findit database
Selective index to open access masters theses and dissertations from U.S., Canada, Great Britain, and Europe. Note: This is an open access subset of Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI).

Google Scholar Restricted Resource database
Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. When on campus click on "Available via SCSU FindIt" to locate the item through the Library's subscriptions.   

America: History & Life Restricted Resource findit database
Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).


JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.

Articles within last 2 - 5 years are not usually available.


Articles and Databases Unrestricted Resource
An alphabetical list of all library databases, with the option to search by subject area.
 

FindIt!  This software checks all SCSU library databases to locate full text of articles. If full text is not available, read the screen to see if the library has a copy in another format (bound volumes, microfiche, recent issues) or if you need to use interlibrary loan to get a copy.

Empirical and Review Articles
 
Empirical Review
An empirical article is a research article that reports the results of a study that uses data derived from actual observation or experimentation.

For empirical articles in ERIC, select Reports -- Research as the Publication Type.
 
A scholarly literature review article summarizes and critically evaluates academic articles and other scholarly works on a topic. It does not contain original research.

For review articles in ERIC, select Information Analyses as the Publication Type.
Format of Article:
  • Abstract – summary of the study
  • Introduction – literature review
  • Methods – methodology used
  • Results – data results/analysis
  • Discussion – significance of study
  • References – works used/cited
Format of Article:
The literature review may be organized various ways. For instance, a review of the literature may trace the historical development of an issue, or group similar research studies on a particular topic, or examine major trends or advancements in an area of study.
ERIC and PsycINFO databases have limiter tools to narrow results by methodology type (empirical). Few databases have this limiter tool. In this case, you can use keywords to locate empirical research articles by using the following terms: empirical, methods, methodology, research design, survey, data, results.
Random Searching Tips
Boolean Connectors
Special education AND middle schools
disabilities AND technolog*
middle schools OR junior high schools
 
Quotation Marks
Useful in Google Scholar and other databases; keeps phrases together
"dual enrollment" “academic affairs”
 
Truncation *
Works in almost all databases
Teach* = teach, teacher, teachers, teaching, teachable
Read* = read, reading, reader
Parent* = parent, parents, parental, parenting
 
Thesaurus
Use the Thesaurus feature in ERIC to access a list of terms representing research topics in the field of education.
 
Finding Books
Books and More Search (MnPALS Plus)
Click Advanced Search for more options.

WorldCat Restricted Resource database
WorldCat is a catalog of materials from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and use Interlibrary Loan to request items St. Cloud State University does not own.
Use WorldCat to locate a book to access through interlibrary loan. Search using key words. If you already know a book title, search by the title. At book record, click and the computer will take you to an interlibrary form. To request that book be delivered for you at SCSU, click interlibrary loan link and fill out the form. You will need your StarID and password.


Library Access for Distance Students

U.S. Higher Education Data
National Center for Education Statistics Unrestricted Resource
This official agency site includes: Education Statistics at a Glance which is comprised of The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, and Projections of Education Statistics. In addition, there is a searchable database of NCES tables and figures. This search tool lets the user locate all tables/figures published in the inventory of NCES' "Education Statistics Quarterly"; the NEDRC (National Education Data Resource Center) Postsecondary Table Library; and many NCES publications.

IPEDS - Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System
Primary source for data on colleges, universities, and technical and vocational postsecondary institutions in the United States from the National Center for Education Statistics.

Digest of Education Statistics 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robin Ewing

Robin Ewing
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130B
(320) 308-2093
rlewing@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian

Click to access email (answered usually within an hour during regular Reference Desk hours), chat (available 24 / 7), phone numbers for SCSU Reference Desk, and online form to set up a one-on-one (in person or via telephone) research consultation with a librarian.

As you work on your culminating project, schedule a meeting with me for in-depth guidance on finding the best resources for your topic. 
Literature Reviews
Write Place Unrestricted Resource
The Write Place offers free, one-on-one tutoring to all members of the St. Cloud State University community, at any stage in the writing process. They are located in Building 51 and also have a satellite location in the library on first floor.

Literature Reviews: An Overview for Graduate Students
From North Carolina State University Libraries

Literature Reviews 
From The Writing Center at the University of North Carolina

Write a Literature Review (Includes video tutorials)
From Virginia Commonwealth University Libraries
Citation Management
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
READY REF BF76.7 .P83 2010 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Official manual for APA documentation. Available in print only, in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 6th edition, 2010.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (2010 update) (OWL at Purdue) Unrestricted Resource
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

What is a Citation Manager? 
From the University of Minnesota Libraries

Wikipedia's Comparison of Reference Management Software

Use Mendeley
Learn about Mendeley
From the University of Minnesota Libraries

Use Zotero
Learn about Zotero
From the University of Minnesota Libraries

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.

RefWorks YouTube Tutorials  
Recommended tutorial:  2.4 Finding Full Text and Saving File Attachments in RefWorks
Repository at St. Cloud State University
SCSU School of Graduate Studies is launching an initiative that will feature culminating projects (such as a thesis or dissertation) from SCSU graduates as full text online documents available from the Repository at St. Cloud State University (Institutional Repository) Unrestricted Resource
Provides open access to a diverse collection of academic, scholarly, scientific, and creative content produced by faculty, students, and staff at the University. . As you progress through your program, watch for more information about preparing and uploading your proposal, draft for committee members, and final copy to the Repository. Your culminating project will also be cataloged and available through the SCSU library catalog.

Culminating projects in Higher Education Administration


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University