The Library at St. Cloud State University

Geography
Atlas of Minnesota Online Edition
Interactive online maps based on the Atlas of Minnesota, 2nd edition. You can browse topics such as agriculture, people, education, housing, and more.

Online and Interactive Maps (John R. Borchert Map Library)
An index to online and interactive maps (National and International as well as Minnesota) on the web from the John R. Borchert Map Library at the University of Minnesota. Includes links to reference and historical maps as well as downloadable remote sensing and GIS data.

Minnesota Geographic Data Clearinghouse Map Gallery
The Minnesota Geographic Data Clearinghouse Map Gallery provides a "First Stop" source for maps of Minnesota. The Gallery links to finished maps, designed for immediate viewing, downloading or purchase, and to interactive online maps, where users choose what to display from a list of available themes.

Minnesota Historical Society Maps
The map collection at the Minnesota Historical Society consists of about 19,000 maps and nearly 2,000 volumes of atlases. The collection strongly emphasizes the state of Minnesota from 1849 to the present, but also includes selected maps and atlases of a wider geographic area encompassing the Great Lakes and the Mississippi River Valley. 

Minnesota Place Names
Print Location: F604 .U66 2001 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Minnesota Place Names is both a book and a searchable web site, which includes the text of the book and a wealth of further links to information about Minnesota places.

Sanborn Digital Maps 1867-1970 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Historic large scale maps (50 feet to the inch) of cities and towns in Minnesota, Wisconsin, and the Dakotas; maps include buildings and streets with original names. Most maps for Minnesota cities available from about 1880. Note: Access to Sanborn maps for North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin will end on 31 May 2015.
Government
Minnesota NorthStar
The official website for the state of Minnesota.

Minnesota Judicial Branch
Information about the Minnesota Court System including a self-help center, court locator, and court calendar. 

Minnesota Law
Includes Minnesota Statutes, Session Laws, and Adminstrative Rules, Court Rules, and the Constitution. 

Minnesota Legislation and Bill Tracking
Track bills in the House and Senate for the current session or for previous years back to 1993. Links to House and Senate Journals, House and Senate committee assignments, Guides for following a bill, and vetoes since 1939.
 
History
MInnesota History
A lively, richly illustrated magazine published by the Minnesota Historical Society.  The magazine covers a variety of topics drawn from more than 150 years of state and regional history and is searchable at the MHS website.  Issues from 1948-present are available in print in the Miller Center Library and older issues are available in microform.  Full-text available online from MHS for 2005 and older. 

America: History & Life Restricted Resource findit database
This database searches 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, and is another good source to look for articles related to Minnesota History.

Primary sources can also be located in print in the Miller Center Library can be located using the Books and More Advanced Search (MnPALS Plus) by combining keywords about your topic with these keywords: personal narratives, diaries, letters, reminiscences, correspondence, sources, speeches, notebooks, anecdotes, interviews, oral histories.

The Minnesota Digital Library and the Minnesota Historical Society have extensive online collections of primary sources related to Minnesota history.


Minnesota Digital Library: Minnesota Reflections
The collection brings you more than 210,000 images, maps and documents from more than 155 of the state's cultural heritage organizations. This site offers resources on Minnesota's history and geography for researchers, educators, students, and the public.

Minnesota Historical Society Collections Online
Collections from the Minnesota Historical Society visually represent Minnesotans, their lives, landscapes, leisure and occupations from the pre-territorial period to the present.  Collections Online includes records for three-dimensional objects, photographs, art, maps, some manuscripts, and the KSTP-TV Archive.
Tourism
Explore Minnesota
Minnesota's official travel site.  Travel information on Minnesota, including lodging, attractions, events, free brochures and more.

Minnesota State Parks
Find fun and adventure for the whole family in Minnesota's state parks and recreation areas!

Roadside America
The best Minnesota oddities and offbeat attractions, road trip and vacation recommendations from Roadside America's writers and experts
Table of Contents
Subject Specialist
Picture: Michael Gorman

Michael Gorman
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140F
(320) 308-2028
msgorman@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk - Miller Center 1st Floor W
  • Monday-Thursday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
  • Friday: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Sunday: 4:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Phone: 320-308-4755
Email: askref@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University