The Library at St. Cloud State University

Newspapers and Current Events

Start here...
ProQuest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Fulltext of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).

New York Times Restricted Resource database
One of the most reputable news sources in the country. Search and print full-text articles from 1995 to the present.
 
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
    Full page and full article images from The New York Times with searchable fulltext from 1851 through 2013. Full indexing is available for articles, performance and book reviews, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth/marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
    Note: 1851-2009
     
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Reliable, unbiased, and in-depth information on a wide variety of current issues. Excellent for browsing hot topics.
Local news
St. Cloud Times
Search or browse full-text articles from 2002 to present. Articles from the most recent seven days are also available online at www.sctimes.com.

St. Cloud Times Index
An index to the St. Cloud Times from 1928 - 2008.

ProQuest Newspapers: Minneapolis Star Tribune Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Minnesota's biggest newspaper. Search and print full-text articles from 1986 onward.

Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub
A searchable website of online geographically and culturally diverse Minnesota newspapers published between 1856 and today.

Minnesota Spokesman-Recorder
A Minneapolis-based newspaper representing the viewpoint of African Americans.
Additional news sources
African American Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Searchable database of approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.

Alternative Press Index Restricted Resource findit database
Index to articles published from 1991-present in over 250 alternative, radical, and liberal publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.
 
  • Alternative Press Index Archive Restricted Resource findit database
    Index to articles published from 1969-1990 in over 250 alternative, radical, and liberal publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.
     
BBC World News Unrestricted Resource
British Broadcasting Corporation, one of the world's most respected news agencies.

Chronicle of Higher Education Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the premier source of news and statistics about higher education. In addition to an online weekly newspaper, the Chronicle provides valuable in-depth articles on aspects of higher education and is a source of useful statistics on faculty and administrative compensation, admissions, graduation rates, tuition and fees, gender equity, etc. 1998 to present.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers Unrestricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.

GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles on topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace that support LGBT studies, family studies, gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Click the check box to limit results to "Peer-reviewed" for scholarly articles.

Google News Archive Unrestricted Resource
Scanned archives of U.S. and Canadian newspapers.  Primarily comprised of local and regional newspapers.  Dates vary. 

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online full text databases covering News, Business, Legal, Medical, and Reference. News includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, broadcast transcripts, regional and international news sources, scholarly & trade journals, and a guide to current issues. Business includes company SEC reports, company profiles and financial data, and accounting literature and standards. Law resources include law reviews (journals), federal and state congressional laws as well as federal court cases. Includes the text of the U.S. Code as well as the Federal Regulations and CFR. It includes hundreds of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines.

Newsbank Special Reports Restricted Resource database
NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms. New information is added daily to featured and current reports.

NewsLink Unrestricted Resource
Links to U.S. and international newspapers.

Nineteenth Century US Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text content and images from about 500 U.S. newspapers published during the 19th Century. The "Research Guide" link leads to commissioned essays that provide context for the collection.



Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
This full-text reference resource presents multiple sides on current controversial topics. Each topic may include topical essays, supporting articles, primary source documents, images, and videos.

Regional Business News Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
A supplemental database for customers of Business Source Premier. With daily updates, Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). Regional Business News has full text for more than 60 sources.

Times (London) Digital Archive Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Complete fulltext, including birth and death notices, advertisements, etc. of the The Times (London) from 1785 to 1985. The content covers almost every event in the world during that period.

U.S. News Map Unrestricted Resource
"USNewsMap.com allows users to search Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers and visualize the results accross space and time."

Wall Street Journal Restricted Resource database
One of the most important business newspapers in the country. Search, view, and print full-text articles from 1984 to the present.
Questions?
Ask a Librarian button
chat | email | phone | meet
::
New York Times Headlines

Loading ...

BBC Top Stories

Loading ...


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University