The Library at St. Cloud State University

National Library of Medicine Exhibit: Library Resources

Library Resources
Introduction
The St. Cloud State University Library is hosting the National Library of Medicine exhibit "Surviving & Thriving: AIDS, Politics, and Culture" from March 13-April 22, 2017. To complement the exhibit and programming, the University Library has compiled a guide of recommended books and films about HIV/AIDS in the collection. Some books from this guide will be on display in the library during the exhibit run.

For complete information about each resource, click here. If you would like to borrow a book, please consider our HuskyFetch service if you are in a rush!

We have quite a few children's books, young adult novels, and adult fiction titles that have characters with HIV or AIDS in the collection as well. For a list of those titles, please click here.  
History of AIDS
BOOKS
And the Band Played On: Politics, People, and the AIDS Epidemic
Journalist Randy Shilts reveals why AIDS was allowed to spread unchecked during the early 80's while the government ignored or denied the threat. Classic that framed and changed the national AIDS discussion. RA644.A25 S48 1988
Condom History AIDS Administration Maryland Dept of Health and Mental Hygiene
AIDS at 30: A History
Written by award-winning medical historian Victoria A. Harden. RA643.8 .H37 2012

Boundaries of Contagion: How Ethnic Politics Have Shaped Government Response to AIDS
Varied patterns of ethnic competition shape how governments respond to their AIDS crises. RA643.8 .L53 2009

Chronicle of a Plague, Revisited: AIDS and its Aftermath
Andrew Holleran's collection of writings from Christopher Street and ten previously unpublished pieces. RA643.84.N7 H65 2008

The Epidemic: A Global History of AIDS
From the Castro bathhouses to AZT and the denial of AIDS in South Africa, this book covers the epidemice from all angles and across the world. RA643.8 .E54 2006

Tinderbox: How the West Sparked the AIDS Epidemic and How the World Can Finally Overcome It

A journalist and AIDS researcher trace for the first time how Western colonial powers sparked the global AIDS epidemic and its rise. RA643.86.A35 T56 2013

When AIDS Began: San Francisco and the Making of an Epidemic
Traces how and why major claims about the transmission of AIDS were made and disseminated to the rest fo the world. RA643.84.C2 C636 2004

TIMELINES
A Timeline of HIV/AIDS Unrestricted Resource
Aids.gov originally posted this timeline in 2011 to highlight milestones of the 30th anniversary of the first reports of what became known as AIDS. It has been updated to 2016. Timeline includes links to all original government documents, research reports, and organizations mentioned. The timeline is downloadable in PDF format.

amfAR: Thirty Years of HIV/AIDS: Snapshots of an Epidemic Unrestricted Resource
Founded in 1985, amfAR is dedicated to ending the global AIDS epidemic through innovative research. This is their timeline of AIDS history, with the number of reported HIV/AIDS cases and deaths listed each year. amFAR also provides up to date statistics on AIDS in the United States and around the world, as well as lists of HIV/AIDS organizations and recommended resources.

AVERT HIV Timeline Unrestricted Resource
AVERT has provided information and education about HIV and AIDS around the world since the beginning of the epidemic. This timeline provides information on how people from around the world have been affected by HIV for over four decades; read, see, and hear how things have changed around the world.

History of HIV and AIDS Overview Unrestricted Resource
AVERT has provided information and education about HIV and AIDS around the world since the AIDS epidemic began. This is their timeline of the AIDS epidemic.
AIDS Activism in the United States
BOOKS
After the Wrath of God: AIDS, Sexuality, and Americn Religion
The first history of religion and the AIDS crisis in the United States. BX2347.8.A52 .P48 2015

The Boundaries of Blackness: AIDS and the Breakdown of Black Politics
Interviews with African-American activists, ministers, public officials, and people with AIDS bring to light how AIDS fractured, rather than united, the black community. RA644.A25 C575 1999

Companeros: Latino Activists in the Face of AIDS
Eighty LGBT Latino/a activists and volunteers from the Midwest and San Francisco share how the AIDS epidemic impacted their lives. HQ76.8.U5 R36 2011

From ACT UP to the WTO: Urban Protest and Community Building in the Era of Globalization
A history of ACT UP that explores the use of non-violent disobedience, media work, and race/community building. HM881 .F76 2002

Hold Tight Gently: Michael Callen, Essex Hemphill, and the Battlefield of AIDS
How AIDS impacted one white gay activist, one black gay poet, and the worlds they created.
RC606.54 .D83 2014 

How to Survive a Plague: The Inside Story of Citizens and Science Tamed AIDS
Written by the creator of the seminal documentary of the same name. RA643.84.N7 F73 2016

Love and Anger: Essays on AIDS, Activism, and Politics
Looks at the literary response to AIDS, class issues, and ACT UP. RA644.A25 C58 1998

Moving Politics: Emotion and ACT UP's Fight Against AIDS
The first book to chronicle the rise and fall of ACT UP. RA643.83 .G68 2009

Reports from the Holocaust: The Making of an AIDS Activist
Definitive essay collection of Larry Kramer, founder of ACT UP and co-founder of Gay Men's Health Crisis. RC607.A26 K73 1989

Stayin' Alive: The Invention of Safe Sex a Personal History
How the work of an author, a researcher/physician, and an activist/singer enabled a generation to continue celebrating their sexuality without risking their lives. RA643.8 .B47 2003

We Must Love One Another or Die: The Life and Legacies of Larry Kramer
Twenty three authors, including John D'Emilio, Gabriel Rotello, Andrew Holleran, Tony Kushner, and Michael Signorile have contributed to this tribute. PS3561.R252 Z99 1997

Women, AIDS, and Activism
ACT UP's own book about women in the AIDS epidemic. RC607.A26 W65 1990


FILMS
Fight Back, Fight AIDS: 15 Years of ACT UP
Compilation of footage from first ACT UP meeting in 1987 through 2002. Available through the online Alexander Street Press media collection
 
AIDS in the Arts, Media, Music, and Sports
Make Love Not AIDS RuPaulBOOKS
The AIDS Crisis is Ridiculous
How artists coped withe AIDS crisis by turning to film-making. Book includes a filmography. RC606.55.B67 A5 2004

AIDS: Cultural Analysis, Cultural Activism
RA644.A25 A357 1988

Angels in America: A Gay Fantasia on National Themes
The original award-winning play, written by Tony Kushner. PS3561.U778 A85 1993

The Art of AIDS
How painters, musicians, dancers, and playwrights challenge the way we have responded to the AIDS crisis. NX180.A36 B35 1994

Melancholia and Moralism: Essays on AIDS and Queer Politics
Confrontation of the conservative gay politics that replaced radical AIDS activism. RA643.8 .C754 2002

HIV/AIDS in Sport: Impact, Issues, Challenges
The most authoritative book on this subject. RA644.A25 H575523 1999

Keith Haring N6537.H348 D45 2014
Keith Haring Journals N6537.H348 A2 1996
The complete works and writings of the artist most famous for the art of AIDS activism.

Pandemic: Facing AIDS
Over 75 photographers from 50 countries capture the lives of people living with AIDS around the world. RC607.A26 P36 2003

Representations of HIV and AIDS: Visibility Blues
What is causing the "death" of AIDS in Western media? RA644.A25 G754 2000x

Stagestruck: Theater, AIDS, and the Marketing of Gay America
Award winning work by novelist and critic Sarah Schulman. ML410.L2857 S38 1998

Women Take Care: Gender, Race and the Culture of AIDS
How images of nurturing females are used in the visual and print culture of AIDS. RA644.A25 H64 2001

ONLINE RESOURCES
Visual AIDS Unrestricted Resource
"Visual AIDS utilizes art to fight AIDS by provoking dialogue, supporting HIV+ artists, and preserving a legacy, because AIDS is not over" (from website). Includes the Artist+ Registery, the largest database of works by artists with HIV/AIDS. It also includes a schedule of exhibits, events, and other resources.
AIDS Education
AIDS Trading Fears for Facts A Guide for Teens 1989 Keith HaringBOOKS
Changing the Course of AIDS: Peer Education in South Africa and its Lessons for the Global Crisis RA643.86.S6 D53 2009

Communication Perspectives on HIV/AIDS for the 21st Century RA643.8 .C64 2008

Putting Risk in Perspective: Black Teenage Lives in the Era of AIDS HQ27.5 .W48 1999

Ryan White: My Own Story 
Ryan White was the first nationally-recognized all-American boy infected by the AIDS virus through a blood transfusion. His mission: to educate the public about AIDS. RJ387.A25 W45 1991

Sizwe's Test: A Young Man's Journey Through Africa's AIDS Epidemic
South African journalist Jonny Steinberg covers a Medecins Sans Frontiers AIDS education program in a South African village, where social stigma makes people hesitant to get tested. RA643.86.S62 S74 2008

Structural Intimacies: Sexual Stories in the Black AIDS Epidemic
Taking the inequities that impact Black sexualities and the disproportionate spread of HIV/AIDS in Black communities, public health attempts to shape community-level health equity frames and policy changes. EBSCOHost EBook.

Too Hot to Handle: A Global History of Sex Education
The first international history of sex education. HQ57.3 .Z56 2015

FILMS
Just Like Me: Talking about AIDS
Classic pioneering educational video series for teens about HIV/AIDS. Films on Demand. 

Living with Slim: Kids Talk about HIV/AIDS
In many African countries, HIV/AIDS is called Slim. In this film, seven African children talk about their experience as HIV positive people. Special features include AIDS facts. DVD RJ387.A25 L58 2004
 
AIDS in Film
DOCUMENTARIES
The Blood of Yingzhou District
Academy Award winner, 20078. Documents the AIDS epidemic in rural China, focusing on one year in the life of a young orphaned boy with AIDS. DVD RA643.86 .C6 .B56 2007

A Closer Walk
Interviews and profiles of HIV+ people, their caregivers, and those in power attempting to manage the disease from around the world. DVD RA644.A25 C547 2006

Larry Kramer in Love and Anger
Author, playwright and AIDS activist Larry Kramer takes center stage in this candid portrait. Films on Demand.


DRAMA
Angels in America
The story of two very different men with AIDS--Mafia lawyer Roy Cohn, and the gentle Prior Walter. Based on the play by Tony Kushner. DVD PN1992.77 .A52 2004

Philadelphia
The best known mainstream American Hollywood film to address HIV/AIDS, homosexuality, homophobia, and LGBT discrimination. Starring Tom Hanks (Academy Award for Best Actor) and Denzel Washington. DVD PN1997 .P4446 1997
AIDS in Science and Healthcare
None of these will give you AIDS University of California poster 1985BOOKS
African Responses to HIV/AIDS: Between Speech and Action
Critique of leadership on HIV/AIDS in Africa from the 1980s to the present. RA643.86.A35 A317 2012

The AIDS Conspiracy: Science Fights Back
How scientists must combat AIDS denialism, the myth that the American government manufactured HIV as a biological weapon, and the belief that AIDS is a consequence for behavior. RA643.8 .N37 2012

Denying AIDS: Conspiracy Theories, Pseudoscience, and Human Tragedy RA643.8 .K35 2009

Hospital Time
AIDS from a caretaker's perspective. Focuses on the role of caregivers for terminally ill patients, how hospitals care for the terminally ill, and the role of lesbians in AIDS work. RC607.A26 R5364 1997

Impure Science: AIDS, Activism, and the Politics of Knowledge RA644.A25 E68 1996

Scientific Errors and Controversies in the U.S. HIV/AIDS Epidemic: How They Slowed Advances and Were Resolved 
Using HIV/AIDS as an example, past Chief of Epidemiology of the CDC's Division of HIV/AIDS prevention shows how scientifie errors and controversies occur in the absence, ignorance, or dismissal of good data. Solid recommendations for change provided. RA643.83 .H65 2008

The Secret Epidemic: The Story of AIDS and Black America RA643.83 .L48 2004

Shots in the Dark: The Wayward Search for an AIDS Vaccine QR189.5.A33 C64 2001

Surviving HIV/AIDS in the Inner City: How Resourceful Lesbians Beat the Odds
Qualitative study of the survival strategies of poor HIV-positive Puerto Rican women. RA643.84.N49 C43 2011

Teenagers, HIV, and AIDS: Insights from Youth Living with the Virus
The psychological and social fallout compounding the medical issues faced by adolescents who have received the diagnosis. J387.A25 T442 2006

Wisdom of Whores: Bureaucrats, Brothels, and the Business of AIDS
World Bank/WHO advisor and epidemiologist presents an assessment of the factors influencing international AIDS prevention. RA643.8 .P57 2008

FILMS
The Origin of AIDS: Mystery of the Chimps
Did the HIV virus originate with an endangered subspecies of chimpanzee? The experts investigate. Films on Demand.

Ending AIDS: The Search for a Vaccine
Based on the book Shots in the Dark: The Wayward Search for an AIDS Vaccine . Looks into the medical and scientific challenges of discovering a vaccine as well as the wider cultural, political, ethical, and organizational issues surrounding HIV. DVD QR189.5.A33 E53 2005
Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Academic Search Premier
Music of the AIDS Epidemic
Click here for a chronology of music written during the AIDS epidemic. These songs address themes of sexuality, safe sex, persevering through illness, and mourning. Please visit the YouTube playlist "Music of the AIDS Epidemic" for videos of these songs; feel free to comment, share, and suggest songs to add.
Image Credits
The Surviving & Thriving exhibit was developed and produced by the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health. Images in this SubjectGuide were curated for the digital gallery available on the exhibit website.
Related Guides
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu

Picture: Rachel Wexelbaum

Rachel Wexelbaum
Associate Professor, Collection Management Librarian
MC 135D
(320) 308-4756
rswexelbaum@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University