The Library at St. Cloud State University

NURS 417: Scholarship for Evidence Based Practice

AACN Levels of Evidence
Click on Image to Enlarge
Evidence Based Practice Articles

Evidence Based Practice, Step by Step
American Journal of Nursing


"This collection of articles was authored by faculty from the Arizona State University College of Nursing and Health Innovation's Center for the Advancement of Evidence-Based Practice. Evidence-based practice (EBP) is a problem-solving approach to the delivery of health care that integrates the best evidence from studies and patient care data with clinician expertise and patient preferences and values."  (2010 AJN)

Evidence-Based Practice: Step by Step: The Seven Steps of Evidence-Based Practice 
Evidence-Based Practice Step by Step: Critical appraisal of the evidence: Part II
Fineout-Overholt, E., Melnyk, B.M., Stillwell, S.B., & Williamson, K.M. (2010). American Journal of Nursing. 110(9): 41-48. 

Evidence-Based Practice Step by Step: Critical appraisal of the evidence: Part III

Fineout-Overholt, E., Melnyk, B.M., Stillwell, S.B., & Williamson, K.M. (2010). 110(11): 43-51.

Evidence-Based Practice Step by Step: Following the evidence: Planning for sustainable change
Fineout-Overholt, E., Williamson, K.M., Gallagher-Ford, L., Melnyk, B.M., & Stillwell, S.B. (2011). American Journal of Nursing. 111(1): 54-60.


Additional Articles: 

(Please use your Star ID/Password to access the following articles)

AACN Levels of Evidence: What's New?
Armola, R.R., Bourgault, A.M., Halm, M.A., Board, R.M., et. al. (2009). Critical Care Nurse. 29(4): 70-73.

Choosing the best evidence to guide clinical practice: Application of AACN levels of evidence
Peterson, M.H., Barnason, S., Donnelly, B.,  Hill, K., et. al. (2014) Critical Care Nurse. 34(2): 58-68. 
Reference & Background Resources
Journal Articles - Databases
The following links will take you to a variety of databases that contain heath related information and research. 

Alt HealthWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Emphasis on holistic and integrated approaches to wellness and health care. Index with abstracts to articles back to 1984, full text for 180 journals and reports back to 1990.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937; covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, etc.

Cochrane Library Restricted Resource
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
 
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Index with fulltext for 550 scholarly journals covering many areas of medicine. Include the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide covering 1300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4700 brand names.

Medline Restricted Resource findit elm database
Indexes more than 19,000 journals, 1950 to present, in all areas of medicine, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and other areas.


PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

PubMed
"PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books."

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals
 
Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.

Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library (VHL)
A comprehensive source for reliable, up-to-date nursing information, includes the Registry of Nursing Research database. 
Additional Databases
Child Welfare Information Gateway Unrestricted Resource database
Provides access to information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families. The Library search includes links to over 22,300 bibliographic citations and abstracts. Includes links to full text of 70+ NCCAN publications, including "user manuals" and information on state statutes.

ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
Note: 1963 to Present
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian


Reference Desk: (320) 308-4755

Miller Center 1st Floor W  (Hours vary during holidays and breaks)
  • Monday-Thursday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
  • Friday: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Sunday: 4:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Email us:  askref@stcloudstate.edu  
Computer chat with a  librarian: Chat (24/7)    
Consultation for individuals or small groups: Schedule a research consultation
Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Research Tutorials
Nursing and Health Research
 

Rivier University - Regina Library


Search Strategies for Nursing Research 
 

Rivier University - Regina Library


How to Read a Scholarly Journal


 Western University - Western Libraries
 
Evidence Based Practice Resources
 
Evidence-Based resources including guidelines, and best practices.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Government website which includes clinical information, research findings, data/surveys, and more
KT Clearing House - Evidence Based Nursing
An introduction to evidence based nursing, resources, search strategies and sample scenarios
NGC-National Guideline Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
PubMed Health
"PubMed Health provides information for consumers and clinicians on prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions."
RNAO - Best Practice Guidelines R
Registered Nurses of Ontario (Canada)
 Best Practices Guidelines
Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library (VHL)
A comprehensive source for reliable, up-to-date nursing information, includes the Registry of Nursing Research database. 
Consumer Health
EthnoMed
Provides cultural information in the areas of clinical topics, patient education, and cross-cultural health

Consumer Health Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
CHC is a comprehensive reference resource covering topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition, etc. The emphasis is on consumer rather than scholarly information. Includes fulltext from journals and specialized encyclopedias, as well as images, videos, and animations.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is a source for consumer information about over 700 diseases, their symptoms and treatment options. It includes a medical encyclopedia and dictionary. MedlinePlus is produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other governmental agencies.
MedlinePLus: Health Information in Multiple Languages
Health information in a wide variety of languages
PubMed Health
"PubMed Health provides information for consumers and clinicians on prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions."
 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University