The Library at St. Cloud State University

Pipeline Summer Camp Program - 2017

Pipeline Summer Camp Programs

 
Research Conversations
Quantitative vs. Qualitative Research
‚Äč
The Information Cycle
Citing Sources
How Wolves Change Rivers
A - Exploring Research - Workshop Topics

Group 1: Yellowstone 
Group 2: Ecosystem
Group 3: Wolf Restoration
Group 4: Wildlife Management

B - What do you know?
What do you know about the topic?
C - Research Warmup
Thinking about elements of your topic and research strategy

Who, What, Where, How
D - Background Information
Use the following resources to find out information, about science terminology, subjects, and topics.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.



Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Full-text reference resource compiled from nearly 640 specialized encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth sciences, environmental sciences, physics, medicine, science & society, and technology.

Science.gov (FirstGov for Science) Unrestricted Resource
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S Government agencies, including research and development results.

Optional:  Wikipedia and Google (Keep in mind that you will need to evaluate you information resources carefullly
E - Concept Mapping
G - Subject Guides
Additional Resources: Search for...journal ar
Use the following databases to find academic/scholarly journal articles :


Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.


Agricola (Agriculture) Unrestricted Resource database
Index to articles, book chapters, short reports, and reprints encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. Also search the online catalog of the National Agriculture Library.
Chemistry Commons Unrestricted Resource
Open access to a growing number of articles authored by scholars from over 100 academic institutions.
Computer Engineering Commons Unrestricted Resource
Open access articles written by undergraduate and graduate students as well as faculty. Sub-topics include robotics, networking, systems architecture, data storage, digital circuits, and other computing areas.
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals
Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University