The Library at St. Cloud State University

Popular Culture

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Articles, journals, magazines and newspapers

Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Alternative Press Index Restricted Resource findit database
Index to articles published from 1991-present in over 250 alternative, radical, and liberal publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.
Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles on topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace that support LGBT studies, family studies, gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Click the check box to limit results to "Peer-reviewed" for scholarly articles.
Images
A journal of film and popular culture.
note: 1967 - present
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online full text databases covering News, Business, Legal, Medical, and Reference. News includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, broadcast transcripts, regional and international news sources, scholarly & trade journals, and a guide to current issues. Business includes company SEC reports, company profiles and financial data, and accounting literature and standards. Law resources include law reviews (journals), federal and state congressional laws as well as federal court cases. Includes the text of the U.S. Code as well as the Federal Regulations and CFR. It includes hundreds of
scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines.
Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
note: 1963 to Present

  Facts, definitions, and overviews

America in the 20th Century
Print Location: REF E169.1 .A471872
Check availability
Each volume focuses on a decade of American culture and popular culture. Illustrated. 12 volumes.
American Chronicle
Print Location: REF E169.1 .G663 1999
Check availability
Highlights news, events, culture, popular culture, and sports of each decade and year of the 1900s. Illustrated.
Encyclopedia of American Social History
Print Location: REF HN57 .E58
Check availability
Use index volume and table of contents to locate scholarly encyclopedia articles on a variety of social history topics. Includes references.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture
Print Location: REF E169.12 .E49 2001
Check availability
One volume encyclopedia with brief entries for thousands of popular culture topics.
Encyclopedia of Social Issues
Print Location: REF HN57 .E59
Check availability
Brief articles on a wide variety of social issues. Most entries include recommended readings.
Encyclopedia of Television
Print Location: REF PN1992.18 .E53 2004
Check availability
Includes articles on a wide variety of television topics, including networks, individual television shows, history of television, actors/actresses, and social issues.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Print Location: REF E169.1 .S764 2000
Check availability
A-Z encyclopedia of numerous popular culture topics. Many articles include suggestions for further reading. Illustrated. 3 volumes.

  Research guides and manuals

Columbia Guide to Online Style
This site provides many examples for citing online resources in the bibliography of a humanities, social science or science research paper. See Preparing the Bibliographic Material once you have linked to this page.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University