The Library at St. Cloud State University

Primary Sources

Primary Sources in the Miller Center
Primary sources can also be located in print in the Miller Center Library can be located using the Books and More Advanced Search (MnPALS Plus) by combining keywords about your topic with these keywords: personal narratives, diaries, letters, reminiscences, correspondence, sources, speeches, notebooks, anecdotes, interviews, oral histories.

University Archives
Search through finding aids for processed collections and scanned images available online from SCSU's University Archives. Highlights of the online collections include many historic photographs and Sinclair Lewis letters to Marcella Powers.
Primary Sources of Minnesota History
Digital Collections of the University of Minnesota Libraries
Find graphics from image collections ranging from African-American Literature Cover Art to World War I and II posters. The poster collection from both world wars contains 8,000 posters from the U of M and Minneapolis Public Library. They are from government, commercial, and charitable sources.

Minnesota Digital Library: Minnesota Reflections
The collection brings you more than 210,000 images, maps and documents from more than 155 of the state's cultural heritage organizations. This site offers resources on Minnesota's history and geography for researchers, educators, students, and the public.

Minnesota Historical Society Collections Online
Collections from the Minnesota Historical Society visually represent Minnesotans, their lives, landscapes, leisure and occupations from the pre-territorial period to the present.  Collections Online includes records for three-dimensional objects, photographs, art, maps, some manuscripts, and the KSTP-TV Archive.

Minnesota History Magazine Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Minnesota History is a lively, richly illustrated magazine published by the Minnesota Historical Society Press. Each issue offers a variety of topics drawn from more than 150 years of state and regional history. Issues from 1948-present are available in print in the Miller Center Library and older issues are available in microform.  Full-text available online from MHS for 2005 and older. 

Minneapolis Star Tribune: ProQuest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Minnesota's biggest newspaper. Search and print full-text articles from 1986 onward.

St. Cloud Times Index
An index to the St. Cloud Times from 1928 - 2008.

University Archives
Search through finding aids for processed collections and scanned images available online from SCSU's University Archives. Highlights of the online collections include many historic photographs and Sinclair Lewis letters to Marcella Powers.
Primay Sources of United States History
American Decades: Primary Sources
Ref E 169.1 A471977 2004 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
10-volume set spanning the 20th century includes approximately 200 full or excerpted primary sources in 160-170 entries from the period representing a diversity of views that provide insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from the decade.

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
The gateway to the Library of Congress’s digitized American historical materials including manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.

American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project has consolidated and organized a wide range of primary source documents of the Presidents.  

Annual Reports of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs
Describes government interaction with American Indians.  Full text for 1826-1917 and 1921-1932

AP Images (Associated Press)
A source of over 500,000 current and historic photo images, graphic images, audio files, and publicity. Content may be used for educational purposes in papers, presentations, and secure Web spaces (e.g., in Desire2Learn pages). Approximately 1,000 photo images are added daily.

Avalon Project at the Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
A collection of primary source (full-text) documents particularly rich in legal and diplomatic history. Organized by period and topic and searchable by keyword, this collection is well edited and high quality. Documents include internal links to materials referenced in the text (Diana Hacker, 2003).

Civil War: Antebellum to Reconstruction, 1843-1877 Restricted Resource database
This collection of primary materials features more than 150 newspapers from all regions of the United States—plus approximately 50,000 government documents and 4,000 rare broadsides and pieces of ephemera. It provides unprecedented local and national coverage of American culture, politics and society from 1840 through 1877.

Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
Direct online access to the basic federal government documents that define our democratic society.

Digital Library of South Dakota
A collection of digital images of historic photographs, maps, manuscripts, and other documents related to South Dakota.  

Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.  The DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States.

Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.

Founders Online
The National Archives created this site and make freely available online the historical documents of the Founders of the United States of America.  Enables users to read and search through thousands of records from George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, and James Madison and see firsthand the growth of democracy and the birth of the Republic.

Historical Text Archive
Offers more than 3,000 links to materials by country and region (with the United States receiving the strongest coverage) and by topic such as Native American, African American, movie history, and genealogy. Resources include both primary and secondary sources (Diana Hacker, 2003).

Internet Archive: Digital Library
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, and more.

Kappler’s Indian Affairs: Laws & Treaties
"Originally compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, in 1904, this is an electronic reproduction of an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII)," (Oklahoma State University).

Making of America (University of Michigan)
This collection "is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology." (From Website)

National Archives and Records Administration
Provides access to federal and executive government documents. This site is searchable by keyword, title, or citation information (Diana Hacker, 2003).

New York Times (1851-2009): ProQuest Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full page and full article images from The New York Times with searchable fulltext from 1851 through 2013. Full indexing is available for articles, performance and book reviews, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth/marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
Note: 1851-2009

Nineteenth Century US Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text content and images from about 500 U.S. newspapers published during the 19th Century. The "Research Guide" link leads to commissioned essays that provide context for the collection.

State of Wisconsin Collection
Brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary materials: writings about the State of Wisconsin and unique or valuable materials that relate to its history and ongoing development.
Primay Sources of World History
AP Images (Associated Press)
A source of over 500,000 current and historic photo images, graphic images, audio files, and publicity. Content may be used for educational purposes in papers, presentations, and secure Web spaces (e.g., in Desire2Learn pages). Approximately 1,000 photo images are added daily.

Avalon Project at the Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
A collection of primary source (full-text) documents particularly rich in legal and diplomatic history. Organized by period and topic and searchable by keyword, this collection is well edited and high quality. Documents include internal links to materials referenced in the text (Diana Hacker, 2003).

EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe
A wealth of primary source material from 22 countries (plus Vatican City). Sites are sorted by country and listed chronologically. Available sources include letters, facsimilies of paintings and photographs, journals, and official documents

Internet History Sourcebooks Project
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts for educational use.  Topics include Ancient, Medieval and Modern histories. Also presents material grouped by subject: Africa, East Asia, Global, Indian, Islamic, Jewish, Lesbian/Gay, Science and Women's history.

Times (London) Digital Archive Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Complete fulltext, including birth and death notices, advertisements, etc. of the The Times (London) from 1785 to 1985. The content covers almost every event in the world during that period.
Minnesota Digital Library

 
Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk - Miller Center 1st Floor W
  • Monday-Thursday: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
  • Friday: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Phone: 320-308-4755
Email: askref@stcloudstate.edu
Research and Citation Guides
Citation Styles (APA, MLA, etc.)
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.

University Archives
Information about the history of SCSU.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University