The Library at St. Cloud State University

Service Learning

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Articles, journals, magazines and newspapers

Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Educator's Reference Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
This database complements ERIC by providing fulltext to about 1100 journals indexed in ERIC, as well as about a dozen standard reference titles related to Education--such as the encyclopedias of Education, Educational Leadership and Administration, Sociology, and Psychology. Covers all levels and areas of Education.
ERIC (ProQuest) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
note: 1966 - present
Michigan Journal of Community Service Learning
The premiere national, peer reviewed journal written by faculty and service-learning educators on research, theory, pedagogy, and other issues related to academic (curriculum-based) service-learning in higher education.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
note: 1963 to Present

  Facts, definitions, and overviews

Building Bridges: the Allyn & Bacon Student Guide to Service-Learning
Print Location: LC220.5 .H35 2002X
Check availability
Written by a former college instructor with extensive service-learning experience, this supplemental text will help students understand the value of service-learning, find an appropriate placement, and have a more rewarding field experience.
Building Partnerships for Service-Learning
Print Location: Main Collection -- Basement -- Call # LC221 .J33 2003
Check availability

Learning the Language of Global Citizenship: Service-Learning in Applied Linguistics
Print Location: Main Collection -- Basement -- Call # P53 .L4315 2007
Check availability

Learning through Serving: A Student Guidebook for Service-Learning Across the Disciplines
Print Location: Main Collection -- Basement -- Call # LC220.5 .C72 2005
Check availability
Student handbook that provides a definition of service-learning, social justice, different ways of building community partnerships, and self-evaluation.
Multicultural Service Learning: Educating Teachers in Diverse Communities.
Print Location: Main Collection -- Basement -- Call # LC1099 .B69 2002
Check availability

Public Work and the Academy: An Academic Administrator's Guide to Civic Engagement and Service Learning
Print Location: Main Collection Basement Call #: LC220.5 .P83 2004
Check availability
A collection of essays on how to establish service-learning programs and projects in higher education.
Putting the Invisible Hand to Work: Concepts and Models for Service Learning in Economics
Print Location: Main Collection -- Basement -- Call # HB74.5 .P87 2002
Check availability
How to use service-learning in economics courses, and how to teach economic theory through service-learning projects.
Race, Poverty, and Social Justice: Multidisciplinary Perspectives Through Service Learning
Print Location: Main Collection -- Multicultural Resource Center -- Call # LC220.5 .R33 2007
Check availability

Service-Learning Code of Ethics
Print Location: Main Collection -- Basement -- Call # LC220.5 .S457 2005
Check availability

Service-Learning in Higher Education: Critical Issues and Directions
Print Location: Main Collection -- Basement -- Call # LC221 .S39 2005
Check availability
Challenges that students face with service-learning, as well as how service-learning can be used as a path to teach social justice.
Service-Learning: History, Theory, and Issues
Print Location: Main Collection -- Basement -- Call # LC220.5 .S4583 2004
Check availability

Serving to Learn: Faculty Guide to Service Learning
Print Location: Main Collection -- Basement -- Call # LC220.5 .S47X
Check availability

Spirit of Service: Exploring Faith, Service, and Social Justice in Higher Education
Print Location: Main Collection -- Basement -- Call # LC220.5 .S635 2006
Check availability

Studying Service-Learning: Innovations in Education Research Methodology Restricted Resource
Print Location: LC220.5 .S795 2003eb (Online via NetLibrary)

Successful Service-Learning Programs: New Models of Excellence in Higher Education
Print Location: Main Collection Basement Call # LC220.5 .S83 1998
Check availability
Examples of service learning projects and programs in colleges and universities across the United States.
Where's the Learning in Service-Learning?
Print Location: Main Collection -- Basement -- LC220.5 .E95 1999
Check availability
Identifying the learning outcomes of service -- Personal and interpersonal development -- Understanding and applying knowledge -- Engagement, curiosity, and reflective practice -- Critical thinking -- Perspective transformation -- Citizenship -- Program characteristics of effective service-learning -- Strengthening the role of service in the college curriculum.

  Websites

Center for Student Organizations and Leadership Development: Volunteer Connection: Service-Learning Page
St. Cloud State University's official Service-Learning program page. Includes links to an additional service-learning resource library, a schedule of service-learning events during the academic year, and detailed description of the service-learning program at St. Cloud State University.
Learn and Serve America
The official website of the Corporation for National and Community Service. Includes links to various programs that the CNCS sponsors, as well as links to national service publications, grant opportunities, media kits, and news regarding national service projects.
Learn and Serve America's National Service-Learning Clearinghouse
Repository of service learning resources from Kindergarten through Higher Education.
Minnesota Campus Compact
Activities and news from the coalition of Minnesota colleges and universities participating in community engagement and service learning activities.
National Campus Compact
"Campus Compact is a national coalition of more than 1,100 college and university presidents — representing some 6 million students — who are committed to fulfilling the civic purposes of higher education. As the only national higher education association dedicated solely to campus-based civic engagement, Campus Compact promotes public and community service that develops students’ citizenship skills, helps campuses forge effective community partnerships, and provides resources and training for faculty seeking to integrate civic and community-based learning into the curriculum." (from the website)
National Service-Learning Partnership
"A nationwide network of members advancing service-learning as a core part of every young person's life and education."
Provider's Network: Fostering Excellence in Service-Learning Professional Development
The Provider's Network develops guidelines that define and explain what constitutes service-learning professional development, offers an online network for people who support or deliver service-learning professional development, offers a service-learning resource library, and hosts a series of online groups for many different audiences, issues, settings, and content related to the service learning field.

  Research guides and manuals

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.

  Laws, legislation, and government reports

Learning in Deed: The Power of Service-Learning for American Schools
Reseach results and discussion of integrating service-learning in K-12 schools. Appendix C includes a long list of national service-learning resource organizations and their contact information.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Rachel Wexelbaum

Rachel Wexelbaum
Associate Professor, Collection Management Librarian
MC 135D
(320) 308-4756
rswexelbaum@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University